We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reservations - No problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11400 Holiday Drive, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Ada, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No reservations - No problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Fairfield Inn. My husband and I made a last minute decision to travel to Four Winds Casino. We did not have a reservation when we checked in at Fairfield, but that wasn't a problem. The check in experience was smooth and we were upgraded to a King suite. Our room faced the corn fields and was quiet and clean. There is a free shuttle that runs to the casino until 2 am on the weekends which is very convenient. The breakfast bar has a nice selection and hits the spot. We will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors. We find it the least noisy on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Kim,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to upgrade you to a suite. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the breakfast as well. We hope to have you here again soon.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
53
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LeClaire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked a stay to New Buffalo Fairfield Inn- after an unexpected family tragedy I called and cancelled our reservations two days prior to stay. Much to my surprise I ran across a $248 charge on our credit card about two weeks later. When I called to question the charge stating that I had cancelled the reservation, I was treated extrememly rudely! From the front desk staff to the General manager Eric. Unfortunately I made the mistake of not getting a cancellation number, thus they would not refund my credit card stating that we had been a "no show". It is not our fault that the person who took the cancellation was not properly trained or somehow did not cancel it out. A very costly mistake for us! The way my husband and I were treated- even from managment staff tells me this company does not value its customers. Definitely will NEVER stay at a Marriott proerty again. Beware of giving out your credit card number- may very well be charged even though you don't stay!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kelli

Thank you for your review; all feedback, positive or negative is important as it helps us to serve our guests better. It is true that you were charged for your stay, as it states when you make your reservation that you will be charged unless you cancel your reservation. After reviewing your reservation again, you did not speak with my front desk; they are trained to relay all cacellation numbers immediately at the time of cancellation. When we spoke earlier you were informed that you made your reservations with another party, not the hotel. With Marriott Central Reservations they will always give out cancellation numbers as well.

I am sorry that you feel that you were treated rudely, that is never our goal at our hotel, we intend to give everyone a memorable stay for the right reasons...I apologize if we failed to do that for you. Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

For this category of hotel, the Fairfield Inn in New Buffalo is very nice with a convenient location off of the highway and close to downtown. The lobby, breakfast area and room were clean and attractive; the bed comfortable. The breakfast is typical hotel continental fare, with the addition of a few hot selections; convenient but nothing more. Southwest Michigan doesn't have enough hotels to meet the demand by tourists and visitors during events, so you pay more for a room in this category than you would in other areas. Two minor problems I experienced were the towels and wash clothes were super skimpy and thin, and the hot tub was overflowing with foamy stuff, which kept me from using it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for the feedback..! I am happy that you had a nice stay and that you thought our hotel was clean. We try our best to provide "clean and friendly" for every guest. I apologize about the towels and the foam in the hot-tub; that happens on occasion when it is used frequently, it must have been between cleaning times.
Again, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation but had no trouble getting a beautiful room at an excellent rate. The front desk hostess was very helpful. We were very happy with our room. The bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was very nicely equipped with all supplies. Our room faced the highway, but we didn't hear much noise. We missed breakfast because we were so comfortable, we slept late. Will definitely stay there on all future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! It is great to see that you enjoyed your room and that our Front Desk was helpful with your stay. Next time you are here I will keep breakfast open a little later so you can enjoy it, but still sleep in again.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very comfortable, new fitness room equipment, excellent service from front desk, great breakfast.. Stayed here on business and will definitely stay here the next time in the area. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Phil,

Thank you for the kind words! We try to provide a home away from home; especially when you are away on business; I am happy to see we acheived that for you.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed with the family 4 nights right after Labor day. Overall very good experience. We got a discounted rate on a 2 queen suite (all week stay, no weekend nights) which was fantastic. We checked in around 9pm and the guy running the desk was really good. The thing you have to remember about non-full service hotels is there is generally one, and only one, person to do everything at night. So every guest that needs something, every outside call, every guest that checks in, plus whatever administrative duties are needed are being done by one person. That's a coporate decision and is the same at Marriot, Hilton, HIE, etc so cut the night shift some slack.

Every employee I encountered greeted me and in general the employees take good care of the property and the guests. I normally travel for business so don't spend much time on hotel sites, but being on vacation I spent time in the morning with coffee and the newspaper. I talked to people like the Chief Engineer who was mortified that I saw cigarette butts on the patio ground (from some slob guests who couldn't be bothered to use the waste cans) and he grabbed a broom and swept it up while on his way to inspect equipment out back. We talked about the challenges of keeping a property looking good, especially near beaches, in today's lean staffing environment. These people get it.

We love the beaches here and this is a great property so we'll be back again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Dave,

Thank you for the kind words! Our 2 queen suites are a great option for long term stays or when your with family. I really appreciate the comments about the staff, and that you were able to enjoy your stay here during your vacation. We hope to accomodate you next year as well and hopefully we can get you in the 2 queen suite again.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a very nice one night stay at this hotel.The rooms are well kept very clean and the beds were comfortable.I would stay again if I was in the area.The breakfast was excellent.
I would only suggest not to get a room on the highway side of the hotel because you can hear the highway traffic.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Allan,

Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that you had a nice stay and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast the next morning. Thank you for your business, and please visit us again.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Address: 11400 Holiday Drive, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.