We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Salad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Bar & Grill

Jimmy's Bar & Grill
18529 LaPorte Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117
269-469-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: $5 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
North Canton, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor Salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here on the recomendation of our motel and it was only about 1/2 mile down the road.
I ordered a plain salad as theirs all come with Blue Cheese.
She brought a square plate, lettace in the center, and cut tiny tomatoes on 2 ends.
NO other vegatables!
It also had Blue Cheese!!
I again told her no blue cheese!

She then brought back the plate of lettace and tomatoes.
I was disappointed in the salad as I would call this a plate of lettace.
Also, taking the blue cheese off, they did not reduce the price!

I tried 2 dressings, their house citrus vinegarette which tasted like grass, and the honey mustard which was like straight De'jon Mustard! VERY HOT!

My husband's Blue cheese burger and fries was good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GOOD MEAL BEFORE HITTING THE FOUR WINDS CASINO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I have been to Jimmy's twice since we decided to take a chance on it after driving past it a few times on the way to the Four Winds Casino. We used to go to Hannah's in New Buffalo until they closed! Jimmy's has a nice atmosphere, it is clean and the servers are friendly and efficient. I particularly enjoyed the Italian Roast Beef sandwich; it was one of the best I ever had and I tried the "Best Ever Ribs" on the second visit and found them to be good but not the "Best Ever". The BBQ sauce was unique; it had a little bite to it so beware if your taste is heat sensitive! My wife agreed that the Beef sandwich was superb and also enjoyed the Crab cakes that come with special sauces. The Flaming Saganaki cheese also seems very popular!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this dining experience! Very nice staff and beautiful decor. The crab appetizer was nicely presented and tasted great. You could tell the ingredients were fresh and care was taken. Great selection of martinis and generous serving of drinks. Dinner was delicious I had a cheeseburger cooked to perfection, My wife had a bbq chicken salad that was fresh and very well prepared.

Not a place to gorge yourself like a buffet but a very nice dining experience that wasn't overpriced. Definitely coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Lake Michigan perch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

went here for dinner on a cousin's recommendation. Nice atmosphere, kind, efficient service and delicious lake perch-best I have had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Been to Jimmys several times over the past 5 years when visiting New Buffalo for the July 4th holiday. THis time was so disappointing. We had the Panini. The bread was cut super thin. It tasted almost stale. It was an attractive looking sandwich with the grill lines etc. but the pork tasted weird and it was not a good meal. The appetizer was bruschetta, not bad, dessert was cheesecake, overpriced and slightly freezer burn taste. Never again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Bar & Grill also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Jimmy's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.