We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, basic rooms and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres

Save Saved
You added Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lumieres, 84220 Goult, Gordes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Goult
Prague
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, basic rooms and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Being a former convent, the hotel is very pretty from the outside. There is a quiet and charming courtyard, a parking place under old trees and a nice swimming pool. The rooms and hallways are very bland and cheap-looking. The furniture is of the most boring and notorious hotel-variety. Clean but ugly. The interior of the rooms kills the whole romantic thing that the place might have had.

The staff was mostly rude or indifferent. Upon arrival we were given a proper dressing down for being two couples. The thing is, we had a reservation for a regular and a wheelchair-accessible room. When the receptionist saw us enter the hotel, she proceeded to chew me out for not informing them beforehand that the wheelchair-accessible room was to be accessible for two people in wheelchairs (which I had done, very specifically - they just chose to ignore it in their records).

It turned out that the room in question was so tiny that they were afraid that two wheelchairs would not fit in at the same time. As it was, the room's layout prevented even a single person with a wheelchair from using it - the access to the bathroom was almost entirely blocked by one bed (there were two single beds, despite my asking for a double room).

It was late, and we had no idea where to look for other accommodation, do we decided to stay. With the help of our friends we were able to rearrange the room so that it was possible for the two wheelhairs to fit in.

Despite the obviously botched reservation, the receptionist never offered an apology and continued to regard us as a nuisance. She even yelled at me at one point because she mistakenly thought that I was not satisfied with the room and wanted a different one (I had every right to but I didn't - I was just trying to ask her a completely different question).

The breakfast was poor. No cheese, ham or anything of the sort. Just sweet pastries, butter, jam and cereals. When we asked for some cheese, the waitress barked at us that they are not authorized to give away any and we should stop asking (I guess we weren't the first to ask).

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room in the old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
27
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were given a large triple room on the first floor, as we had requested a large room on booking.com. It had heaps of space and an extra sort of entrance hall with shelves and another wardrobe. It was extremely quiet and the staff were friendly and helpful. Obviously you need a car to be here but it is within easy driving distance of all the villages and sights you want to see in the area, as well as down to the coast. It has a huge pool which was about 31 degrees when we were there and a whole network of hiking/biking trails - the property is enormous. I think there are tennis courts too but we didn't use them. Just outside the gate opposite the property there are three choices of eateries, although one is more of a locals bar. We ate at Le Garage, which is down a lane beside the other 2 bar/restaurants and it was really fantastic with a lovely outdoor area and top notch food. We thought this hotel was good value and would recommend it for any age group, couples, families, anyone.

Room Tip: Always best to be on the top floor, so you don't have noise from above you, especially when ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goult, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Where to start. The room + ensuite facilities are tiny. The walk to the room feels like you're walking into a prison. Long, unlit + undecorated corridors with an overpowering scent of wet socks. The saving grace of this room was the air con as we came in the heat of summer.

On their website they advertise that they have bikes for hire. When we arrived we were told they only have 'mountain bikes for men sorry'. The gym that is featured on their website is a tiny box with old equipment that doesn't work + they don't have a treadmill. Another deceptive feature of their website is the picture of the pool without a cover on. Only once we saw it without a cover, but the rest of the time it stayed covered + empty despite the sizzling temperatures. It also states on their website that they have table tennis tables. Again, only sighted once, but otherwise kept under lock + key. On that, there are security codes for everywhere you want to go. A different code for each place which helpfully no one explained.

The staff were for the most part unhelpful and did not appear to have any particular knowledge about the region that would have been useful. There was no hotel directory with info about things to do around the luberon, or facilities in the hotel. Opening times for the gym, pool etc and codes to get in where only available on request + even then answers were often vague and unhelpful.

On one particular occasion we requested a knife to cut a piece a fruit and the staff erupted into hysterical discussion about whether we should be allowed a knife as usually 'we only sell them to people'. There was one staff member however, who was particularly nice + took an interest in us- offering advice when requested.

Breakfast. Curdled yoghurt + fermenting fruit salad anyone?

On the whole I thought this was a hotel that was trying to be an exclusive first rate resort but falling appallingly short. Thankfully we were able to hire bikes somewhere else so we could escape the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

For the cost, we found the place quiet alright. If we'd come at a warmer time and stayed longer, it probably would have been very good value. The breakfasts are good value with plenty to eat and good variety. The dinners I wouldn't worry about. You're better off elsewhere including the pizza place across the road. The bed was comfortable, the room nice and clean and the whole place very quiet. I'd stay here again: it was a very good place to stay as a launching pad for the region (easy access to Avignon, Gordes, Arles and the rest of the Luberon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

For the price you pay you would expect this to be three star, but the room quality was 2 star. No TV remote in room to operate TV and room was stuffy.

We only stayed one night and we skipped breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

You can go there if you run out of other options. all in all, euro 80 is at the low side within Luberon.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
336 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The prior reviews do a good job describing this hotel with one major exception: I wouldn't recommend eating dinner at the hotel. As noted, there's a set menu for the night (no choice) and on our night is was 20 euros. Based on the earlier reviews, I was expecting something like "fine dining," Far from it. The dining room is a bit like a nice cafeteria, and the food was "homestyle," and not in any way gourmet. Which is not to say it was bad, just not impressive. I'd recommend driving up the hill to Goult and getting a nice meal for only a few Euros more.

Otherwise, the hotel has pretty grounds, although the design does not quite take enough advantage of their historical setting. Rooms, as previously noted, are good but small. Public grounds are extensive, and there are some nice walks. I would have liked to use the pool, but they weren't encouraging it in the evening (not sure if it was even possible) with the gate locked and a cover placed over it.

Service was OK, but not particularly friendly. Some of that may have had to do with a language barrier, as we speak only a little French and the staff seemed to speak only a little English.

Bottomline is that this is a decent place to stay, but no shangri-la. I'd consider my other alternatives next time in the area.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres

Address: Lumieres, 84220 Goult, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Goult
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Goult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.