We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Justifiably popular with locals for Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Fiacre

Auberge du Fiacre
Quartier Pied Rousset | D900, 84220 Goult, Gordes, France
04 90 72 26 31
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Auberge du Fiacre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Goult
Price range: $17 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vaucluse France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Justifiably popular with locals for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Having read much improved reviews here recently we decided to have another try.

We were greeted by a friendly young woman who was clearly well trained but, yet again, at full stretch. Service was again rather too long though the local diners who had arrived at midday (on mange à midi ici!) were, 30 minutes later, well on with their lunches.

The menus seemed not to have changed a great deal but I do like the philosophy of serving only fresh, local produce prepared in-house - other than the ice cream that comes from a local multi-award winning glacier.

Had the service been 30 minutes faster and the in-house desserts and the bread on offer better, I would happily have given an excellent review.

At the end of the meal the serveuse told us that it was her first day and she had noticed the rather amusing English translations on the menu (soap of the moment!)

As we left, chef came outside to see us. He is in fact the patron and he explained that he has had really serious staff problems, so when his chef left he took over in the kitchen. He also told us that he had had to employ someone for the near future but he doubted if she would stay. He is clearly working his socks off to keep the place going but, as we know only too well, staffing problems anywhere in France are nearly at crisis point - especially out in the countryside. How unlike the days of the family-run establishments of yore.

With more experience in the kitchen, the addition of another server (perhaps an apprentice?) at weekends and holidays and a good pâtissier this place could be perfect.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice restaurant - wrong place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently. Sadly, on a Saturday evening in early September it was almost empty.
The food was good, pan fried foie gras layered with apple - delicious, followed by perfectly cooked scallops.
The chef is a very personable and talented young man who was happy to come and seek our opinions at the end of the meal.
If, like so many of us, you've driven by many times and said - we must give it a try, I would suggest that you do!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really nice authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed and had a wonderfull evening.

The food was really good. All courses were authentic, well prepared and high quality. The menu was concise but sufficient.

The atmosphere was really good, underneath trees, tables far apart for good privacy and quiet dining. Nice fountain and lamps. Nice music that matched the surroundings and atmosphere. My girlfriend thought the details could use a female touch though.

The staff was really excellent. They really put in an effort to make you enjoy your mail. They had a true heart for hospitality.

DO GO HERE

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccalex, Gérant at Auberge du Fiacre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Emanuel,

We are glad you had a nice meal and great experience with us.

Looking forward hearing from you soon.

Céline Sube, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Provencal Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This roadside auberge has a delightful terrace hidden in the rear. We had been referred here by the owners of our B&B as well as several fellow guests who had eaten here.

The young staff was very friendly as they tended to all our needs. It is pleasure to see employees who take such pride in their jobs.

We loved all of the courses that we sampled. The beef with onion chantilly was out of this world.

We were pleased to have the chef visit our table so we could pass on all of our compliments. They were well deserved.

I recommend this spot for a well cooked meal in a pleasant setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccalex, Gérant at Auberge du Fiacre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Juan,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us

Best Regards

Alexandre Sube, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening and nice meal.........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We too have driven past for years but thought knowing there are new owners we would give it a try. Service was accomplished by a young man who is completing his training, he was excellent but who will follow? Starters were ok, not exceptional, mains better, not huge which is fine, well cooked and nicely presented, my wife chose cheese next, as strong as possible and she got it! one of the best selection of cheeses in the area from a producteur in Vaison Le Romaine, desserts were enjoyable. What slightly dissapointed us was that when the chef came to describe the cheese, a) he had the most incredible accent which sadly we struggled to understand and b) we live locally with a business where we recommend and book people into restaurants and he made no effort to engage or find out where his clients were from. An opportunity missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Fiacre also viewed

 

Been to Auberge du Fiacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Fiacre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.