We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Bru

Maison Bru
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eygalieres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Bru
Save
You added Maison Bru to your Saves list
Route d'Orgon | D24B, Eygalieres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Eygalieres B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Understated elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel...very upscale, contemporary with a touch of rustic flair. Upon arrival we meet Alice who was wonderful in getting us a last minute room and educating us about the hotel, the chef, and the very special town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paal, Limburg, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice place to stay on a fantastic location, but the price of the rooms or a little bit to high for what it's worth. If you ask a room price of 300 €/night for a couple without breakfast for instance coffee and tea facilities on the room would be acceptable.
Breakfast is nothing special. If you arrive by the latest, not everything is available any more on the buffet even though you pay the same price as the ones who came first.
They offer free bikes but only 2 out of 8 are drivable and even with those 2 we had difficulties. No maps of the region where available.
The restaurants as well as the bistro were very nice but also pricy for what it was worth, especially the restaurant. Rule number one with both places is, you have to pay for everything. My opinion is that if you pay room prices that high, you should get a lot of in return without paying for it anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Maison Bru is located just a few minutes drive from the center of town eyaglieres where they also have their bistrot. The Brus seemed like a very nice couple and saw them on the property working hard, entertaining friends, taking care of guests. I thought they had a great vision for a luxury resort. I loved the modern, natural design of the place and it reminded my husband and I a lot of where we got married. The pool area with the giant comfortable sunning beds were amazing. It was also really nice to walk out your room door and dine at a 2 Michelin star restaurant, overall everything seemed pricey and not as well executed to match. The servers were clearly young and nice but you could tell needed more training. There isn't the orchestration and attention to detail that usually comes with the accolades.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the most wonderful place, the location, the food and without doubt the service and attention to detail. We took 50 people to lunch to celebrate our daughter's wedding. We were thrilled with everything. Please do not think twice about visiting this wonderful restaurant and if you have any sort of event you will not do better. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you, thank you.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Fantastic location! The hotel is a luxury resort with splendid facilities such as, pool, tennis court and pool bar. The rooms are very spacious with a full service bathroom ( great shower ! ) Stylish details, superb bed and a terras leading to the garden / pool area. The breakfast is a buffet with a variety of fresh products. Both the restaurant at Maison Bru as well as the bistro in the village serve exquisit food and a terrific choice of wines. Most of all the service is pure hospitatlity with a capital H.( free WIfi in the bar and restaurant area )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Thsi hotel has a very nice setting and looks good, contemporary design mixed with old features. The pool area and terraces are impressive with nice lounge chairs and furniture.
This unfortunately doesn't justify the high price of 300 €.
We also dined at the restaurant and that didn't make things better... Although the food was good; the lack of proper service (understaffed and except the lady of the house and another girl not smiling) didn't give the nice feeling that you should have in a Michelin star restaurant.
Another disturbing fact was the wine card: it wasn't well balanced, there were very few wines beneath 100€ which already is a lot of money for a bottle, especially in a region that has excellent wines to offer at reasonable prices.
Breakfast was good and had a correct price (20€).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel was a disappointment. My expectations were high. The owner of this hotel and restaurant, a popular TV cook in Belgium, has been much applauded in his homeland for obtaining a Michelin star in France (separate report in the Tripadvisor Restaurant section), home to some of the best restaurants in the world. The hotel is set on the edge of a forest outside of Eygalières, a quiet village in the tourist triangle formed by St Remy, Les Baux de Provence and Cavaillon. In high season (which was my case when I visited last week) regular rooms in this scattering of low Provençal buildings go for 300 euro a night without breakfast (20 euro extra). My good sized (regular) room had a large double bed with reading lights, a smallish flatscreen TV, a closet and a minibar as well as a terrace with access to the pool (you can't go barefoot though as there are only shingle walkways in the garden). The bathroom was partitioned off from the bedroom by a low wall that didn't provide much privacy. The sink was tiny and the toilet so narrow that I could touch the walls with my elbows on either side. The light in the room is operated with a high-tech switch but in general lighting in the room is not very good, especially in the bathroom. I should also mention that the TV only broadcast French chains (no CNN, BBC news or Deutsche Welle). During my visit the room was definitely underserviced (airfilter in the bathroom covered with a thick layer of dust (room 11), rainshower with chalky stains, cobwebs on the decorative roof beams, dusty footmarks and debris from the garden paths on the floors (ouch!). Dusty footprints on the floors were a problem around the hotel, especially at the reception. The garden has a nice oversized lap pool but I had the impression that nothing was really neat, especially the sunbed covers which looked like they had had a tough week. By the way, at 9:15 am the pool was still covered with a protective screen during my visit … so no pre-breakfast dip. In the garden around the pool, the trees and shrubs were definitely not getting the sustained attention a recently planted garden requires (I believe this place has only been open 2 years). Finally, the whole look and feel of the hotel is perhaps a bit over-designed. Nice to look at in an interior decoration magazine! As a result it feels very much out of touch with this wonderful location, in the middle of the Parc Regional des Alpilles. One can't help but wonder why the owner relinquished the former location in a shady street of a quaint Provençal village. Finally, I need to mention that this hotel definitely has a communication problem. The property has changed names. So when you are not travelling with the latest edition of the Michelin Guide you will find the former name Le Bistrot d'Eygalières or Chez Bru. However, when you get to the village you discover that Chez Bru has now become Brasserie Bru (no more rooms) and that the gastronomic restaurant and the new hotel are now a couple of kilometers outside of the village and are now called Maison Bru. Good luck to the simple tourist! This hotel did not constitute value for money in my corner of the woods.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Bru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Bru

Address: Route d'Orgon | D24B, Eygalieres, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Eygalieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Eygalieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Bru is located at 4 km from the village of Eygalières, in a place with old olives trees where the alliance of old materials and modern embrace the surrounding nature. In this unique place, you will find the magic cooking of Wout Bru. Three double rooms, four double bedrooms with loft and two superior double rooms with private outdoor Jacuzzi allow gourmets eager to find rest and comfort, stay longer and enjoy dining. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Bru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.