We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Les Orangeries

Save Saved
You added Les Orangeries to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Orangeries
12 av du Docteur Dupont, 86320 Lussac les Chateaux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Limoges, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Super decor............but EXTREMELY limited menu. Tonight`s choice was risotto or lemon sole, and that was it, apart from pigeon for a considerable supplement. From previous visits we know the quality is super, but I want a bigger CHOICE. We left after drinks only , and ate in Montmorillon instead.
Worrying as a trend, as we usually eat here 4 or 5 times a year, and usually recommend it to friends who visit us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
29
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poitiers
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked a table here for lunch as it is 20 mins from us by car and has a good reputation for food.
Unprepossessing from the main road (and easily missed as on a busy main road) as a hotel, yet behind the discreet facade lies a gem.

There was a choice of menu priced differently for weekdays and weekends (as is normal for France). We chose the 28€ menu.

I had Carpaccio de Melon Charentais et Magret de Canard séché, gelee de Porto, my husband chose Gaspacho aux Premières Tomates de chez Lecash, Tartine de Chèvre &herbes du jardin des possibles.
Both entrees were fabulous and beautifully presented, it was a shame to eat them. They tasted as good as they looked.

For our main course we both chose Magret de Canard de Chez Mitteault, Mousseline de Pois chiche â la Pistache, legumes aux épices douces. Again, beautifully presented and very tasty.

The service was efficient and discreet and we felt well looked after.

Looking forward to taking friends there and more visits in the future. A fantastic find so close to home.

Room Tip: We didn't stay (would love to, but so close to home we'd have to have money to burn). There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chjeltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at Les Orangeries about five times over the last 15 years on our way down to the Perigord region. It is an ideal stopping off point from St Malo and offers real peace and convenience.

For some reason we always seem to get the same room on the ground floor with french windows overlooking the garden (much quieter than the ones overlooking the road). The hotel provides secure parking round the back with electronic access and there is an enormous swimming pool that is kept immaculate.

The grounds are filled with fruit trees and the grounds have that French lived in look.

We ate in the restaurant whch is a converted barn attached to the hotel and is a real find. We had a superb meal which was both delicate and immaginative. With the help of the waiter we enjoyed a fine local wine. The service is both attentive and friendly.

We will cerainly continue to stay there on our way down to the south of France

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Garden are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay overnight on your way to the south west of France. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and when nice sunny weather one can enjoy a nice out-dour pool.. Breakfast was rather poor for the rate they charged. The hotel has a nice restaurant with an 'organic' menu. They have a very nice cuisine combined with excellent local organic wines. Delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family in the area. The hotel is a gem, old world style with lots of charm . The staff couldnt be nicer and the resaurant was so good we went there every night. Tasty breakfast was served in the cute dining room. Highly recommended if you want a romantic getaway or just a quiet rest. also has a huge pool but it was too cold to swim for us.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We’d had the foresight to book a room overlooking the garden; I’m told the roadside bedrooms are pretty noisy. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the room comfortable with splendid ‘his and hers’ sinks in the bathroom. The pool looked inviting but we were just passing through. The hotel and restaurant proclaim their green credentials, with locally sourced dishes and wines, well prepared. The breakfast was a bit uninspiring, almost a bit of an afterthought, expensive for what it was. A sympathetically restored old building with many lovely touches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This was a good find. Lovely hotel with lovely garden, pool and restaurant. We really enjoyed our 2 evening meals outside on warm summer nights and LOVED the breakfasts, also set outside. It is definitely worth visiting to taste the local honey. (Shame we could not buy any). We had an interesting room especially as there was no cupboard space to put any clothes away. We also would have liked an owner or manager to introduce themselves and welcome us. Also the pool was freezing as the water is not heated, another shame. Even so we did enjoy our stay there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Orangeries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Orangeries

Address: 12 av du Docteur Dupont, 86320 Lussac les Chateaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Lussac les Chateaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lussac les Chateaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the 20 best European hotels for its charm, its commitment to the environment and its unique setting at the heart of the touristic Poitou, the Orangeries offers a new art of country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Les Orangeries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orangeries Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Orangeries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.