We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and excellent food in a charming Charentaise setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Karina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Karina to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Karina
Les Metairies, 16200 Jarnac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality and excellent food in a charming Charentaise setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We arrived on 24th April having booked for 1 night but the welcome we received from Nikki & Austin coupled with an excellent dinner that evening left us with no choice - but to stay for a week! We were not disappointed. Accommodation was clean and comfortable; breakfast was freshly prepared (home-made breads an croissants, wide selection of jams/preserves and wonderful, wonderful ham - oh and my wife had her beloved Earl Gray tea every morning); the welcoming bar was well stocked and the dinner menu was varied and offered something for every taste. I have to say, the fillet steak was superb but then all Nikki's food was to a very high standard. Throughout our stay Austin was the perfect host and provided a wide range of good quality wines from his well stocked bar. He and Nikki make a perfect team and we look forward to staying in the Hotel Karina in the very near future

Jan & Eugene

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
25
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I stumbled across this hotel purely by chance 11 years ago, our first few years were as a couple and then as a family, which on occasions has grown to a few friends and a party of 10! each visit has been unique due to the people you meet. Each year various rooms have been updated to a great standard, the pool area is a delight with cool, quiet areas to enjoy your book or music. The food is well, just fantastic! You will find something you want to taste and there is always a vegetarian dish or two or three. Children are always considered so if they like pasta I must recommend the Confit pasta, if you wish your children to eat early they are happy to do so. As in earlier reviews it is a sociable dinner, but if you wish to eat with your family that's fine. To be honest Nikki and Austin will do their best to make your stay as happy as they can. If you are a family with young children/babies their is plenty to do in Jarnac as well as older children/teenagers with the local skateboard park, water skiing and of course the wonderful bike rides just on your door stop. The court yard has plenty of interesting plants, flowers and trees and is a wonderful setting to have a wonder meal..... I really cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Small friendly Logis, where we spent wonderful evenings in the courtyard sitting with other guests and the owners soaking up the evening ambiance.
The food was always excellent, using fresh and locally produce products; no frozen 'Chicken Ding' here.
Location - just a mile or two outside of town meant a quite atmoshere reading round the pool, or an option to walk or cycle through lovely vineyards into town.
If you want a break to let the stresses of our modern lifestyle wash away - the Karina should be on your list.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We have stayed many times over the past 18 years and have always really enjoyed ourselves with our children,and now grand children.The food is incredibly varied,with a mix of french and english-- yummy!!.Nicki and Austin really go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome.You can join their communial dinner table of an evening, when the banter can be hilarious.The pool and sun beds are a real asset,with quiet corners to hide away with a book,or join in with the kids in the pool.Most of the rooms are really spaciousand comfortable,and the service excellent.There is a great waterski school nearby,where our 6 year old grand daughter learnt this year,plus many other attractions in the area.They also have bikes for hire, to cycle through the vinyards or along the banks of the charante.Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Spent 10 relaxing days in the countryside famous for cognac vines and fields of sunflowers.....learnt a lot about distilleries and how to drink cognac.....lovely!

The hotel/restuarant lived up to and exceeded our expectations with wonderful hosts Nicky and Austen. Their welcome and service was superb it was like home from home not to mention Nickys cooking ...absolutely delicious... The pool was lovely especially as the weather was very hot and sunny. The hotel is rustic and charming, just what you need in France...can't wait to return next year and to be honest don't want to tell anyone as I would like to keep this secret .......shhhh!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puybossard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I own rental accomodation in france and always reccomend this restaurant to our guests,because of its quality of both food and service . a shining light locally amongst the somewhat mediocre french cafe,s .Nicky and Austin work tirelessly to provide a superb ambience which all adds up to a great dining experience-highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Despite a potentially beautiful setting, Hotel Karina is at best mediocre, and at worst a real rip off. My room was furnished with cheap pine furniture, the bathroom fittings were old and the toilet smelly and there was nowhere to put anything except for an old whicker shelf wedged under the sink on one side, for privacy you had to keep the curtain(s) drawn; in my room there was just one faded and torn curtain adding to the depressing feel of the room. The prices, for the quality of the rooms and of the food, I felt were very high - much higher than other places on my trip which were of a much higher standard. The food in particular was expensive for what it was - a not very imaginative menu, and on the evidence of the meal I ate there, of not very good quality. The courtyard, which again could have been lovely with a little care and attention had the feeling of being done on the cheap - dusty and cluttered with dirty white plastic garden furniture and few plants - it was not an inviting place to sit. All in all, an unpleasant experience and not at all representative of the quality to be found elsewhere in France.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Karina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Karina

Address: Les Metairies, 16200 Jarnac, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente > Jarnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Karina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Karina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.