We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Decor and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Four

Le Grand Four
1 Rue De La Cure, 85330 Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Noirmoutier Island, France
02 51 39 61 97
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Grand Four is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chevy Chase, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great Decor and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a lovely meal at le Grand Four and were impressed by both the food and the decor. Clearly, someone with a keen eye for both style and taste is behind this restaurant. We look forward to going back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    16
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not our best dinner in Noirmoutier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently ate at this restaurant and we don't think it deserves to be ranked number 2 on TA for restaurants in Noirmoutier. The terrace and ground floor dining room were full so we were taken upstairs which seemed to be very much an overflow area although nearly all the tables were occupied.

The food was interesting, beautifully presented and enjoyable although especially the main course portions were very very small.

It was the service and the loo which really let this restaurant down.It was an hour and a half before we received our main course,the meal took over three hours to complete. The loo could have done with a makeover,I only hope the kitchen was better.

This is an expensive restaurant which did not live up to our expectations,we would not return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - if a little expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

really gourmet french cuisine; lovely, friendly staff. Have your hotel arrange a table a few days in advance

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated. Crowded. Rushed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a horrible experience!

The art of a proper French meal has definitely left this restaurant. No one even asked if we would like to start with an aperitif! We had to beg for our glasses of champagne, our traditional start to studying the menu. Despite reservations, we were squeezed into the overly crowded room in the most uncomfortable table.

We barely opened the menu when the service demanded our order at the same time the champage was served! We were mortified!

Our order was quite simple. As usual, whatever the version of the "degustation" menu would be. Generally, the most expensive version that is on the prix-fixe but is not featuring lobster. Lobster is boring and pedestrian to American "foodies".

In words, the menu choice had great promise. It ended there. This meal came in rapid succession with no break between courses. We wondered if they were just microwaving frozen food. It was entirely unprofessional, poorly presented, each plate nearly thrown on the table, and only adequately prepared by the cooks (I dare not blaspheme the word "chef" since I doubt they have a real one).

How this restaurant continues to receive mention in the Michelin Guide must involve some exchange of money or a free meal or something of that sort.

Don't waste your money on a horrible experience. It is a place that has neither class nor standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Beautiful cuisine. Lovely and very professional staff... must book always full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Beautiful cuisine. Lovely and very professional staff... must book always full

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Four also viewed

Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Noirmoutier Island
Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Noirmoutier Island
 
Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Noirmoutier Island
Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Noirmoutier Island
 

Been to Le Grand Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.