We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay, horrible manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Castel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Petit Castel to your Saves list
Le Petit Castel
32 Rue Constand Fouche, 27210 Beuzeville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beuzeville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible stay, horrible manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed there last night.
When we booked the hotel or when we arrived, nobody bothered to tell us that outside our hotel was a public celebration that would last until 1 am.
I should also add that we are a young family with a 3 year old son that could not sleep and cried until midnight because of the loud music.
There was no one at reception at 22:30 when we came down to ask for a change of room, even though the sign said that someone should be there until midnight.
We suffered, we were frustrated and there was no one to talk to.
The next morning we asked for the manager that claimed the following:
1. He didn't know we had a child with us - that info was provided on the booking website and the booking was for a family room
2. He can't give us compensation since we already paid for the room on the website (booking.com) - lie! He later charged us for the night in cash (after a long argument, gave us a 10 euro discount on 94 euro bill)

We will never ever stay in that hotel again and will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck B, Propriétaire at Le Petit Castel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,
Mon attachement à satisfaire tous les clients est un engagement de tous les instants qui ne souffre aucune exception. De l’arrivée au départ, tous les moyens, dont je maîtrise la gestion, sont mis en oeuvre pour permettre à nos clients de passer le meilleur des séjours. A l’impossible, nul n’est tenu, spécialement pour des évènements extérieurs à notre établissement tels qu’une fête foraine locale qui s’est terminée à 24h30. Je veux bien comprendre une certaine gêne devant tant d’incivilité nocturne et je vous exprime à nouveau mes plus vives excuses concernant ce point de votre complainte.
Par contre, je ne peux laisser sans réponses les inexactitudes (euphémisme) de votre commentaire.

Vous n’avez pas réservé une chambre familiale mais une chambre triple et vous n’avez pas rédigé de demande particulière concernant l’âge de votre enfant. Je tiens la copie de votre réservation à votre disposition et celle de Trip Advisor). Je vous rappelle que l’hôtel n’effectue aucun pré-paiement et qu’il est bien inscrit sur votre réservation que vous n’avez pas payé votre séjour.
La réception est même ouverte toute la nuit (il suffit juste d’utiliser la sonnette de nuit qui est à votre disposition et un numéro de téléphone d’urgence est indiqué dans le hall de l’hôtel.
Vous avez demandé une compensation financière (ce fut bizarrement rapidement votre unique préoccupation) qui vous a été octroyée après avoir refusé de vous voir offrir les petits déjeuners puisque commandés puis annulés à plusieurs reprises!!!
Puisque vous semblez vouloir qualifier de mensonger notre comportement, je ne voudrais pas mentir par omission en oubliant d’indiquer aux internautes, très intéressés par ces discussions électroniques, que vous alliez quitter l’établissement sans avoir régler votre séjour !!! Sans l’intervention de la responsable, c’était la double peine, commentaire désastreux à venir (et grivèlerie.

En qualité de professionnel de l’hôtellerie je comprends et j’accepte d’être soumis à la critique de la part des clients lorsque celle-ci est fondée, honnête et se rapportant à des faits ayant lieu dans l’environnement de l’établissement, ce qui n’est pas du tout le cas en l’espèce. Dès lors, cher Monsieur, vous comprendrez que c’est avec plaisir que je prends note de votre décision de ne plus venir dans mon établissement.

“La critique est aisée, et l’art est difficile”
Philippe Néricault - 1732.

Dear Sir,
My attachment to satisfy all customers is a commitment of all the moments no exception. From arrival to departure, all ways, I control management are implemented to enable our customers to make the best stay. At the impossible, no one is required, especially for outdoor events such as a party at our local carnival which ended at 24:30. I can understand some discomfort to many night incivility and again I express my deepest apology for this point of your complaint.
For cons, I can not leave unanswered inaccuracies (understatement) of your comment.

You have not booked a family room but a triple room and you have not written in a special request for the age of your child. I hold a copy of your booking at your disposal and the Trip Advisor). I remind you that the hotel does not take any pre-payment and it is listed on your reservation that you have not paid your stay.
The reception is even open all night (just had to use the ringbell at your disposal) and a emergency phone number is shown in the lobby of the hotel.
You asked for financial compensation (it was oddly quickly your only concern) that was granted after refusing to see you offer breakfast as ordered and canceled several times!
Since you seem to qualify as lying our behavior, I would not lie by omission by forgetting to tell users, very interested in these electronic discussions that you were going to leave the institution without pay for your stay! Without the intervention of the head, it was double penalty, comment disastrous future and making off without payment.

As the hotel industry professional I understand and agree to be subject to criticism from customers when it is based, honest and relating to events taking place in the environment of the establishment , which is not at all the case here. Therefore, dear sir, you will understand that it is with pleasure that I take note of your decision not to come to my hotel.

"Criticism is easy, and art is difficult"
Philippe Néricault - 1732.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here so that we could easily visit the coastal resorts like Honfleur, Deauville and Trouville. The double rooms were quite small and, although the twin room was more spacious, it was on the second floor, accessed by a tricky twisty staircase. (No lift). Excellent shower with bath and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was adequate. The patron was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Several cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. Nice hotel garden and parking.

Room Tip: No lift, no rooms on ground floor and stairs not easy for anyone with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Arrived cold and tired but were soon brought back to normal by the warm welcome from the owner and a great hot bath - a real comfortable one which is not usual for some hotels on the continent. The room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. A very comfortable bed and garden view ensured a great night's sleep. Our host recommended a wonderful restaurant and in the morning he supplied one of the best breakfasts we had in France. A great place to say close to Deauville, the ferry ports and because of its facilities is well worth a detour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Positive points:
- Very charming and romantique hotel, located in the center
- Little room (n°14) wih a nice view on the garden
- Clean,confortable, calm area
- Very friendly staff, warm welcome
- continental breakfast, served by the staff.
- 20min by car from Honfleur
- private parking


Negative points: No major points
- maybe the bathroom needs some refresh
- not sure that there is air conditioning

Room Tip: room 14 : view on the garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My Fiancee and I recently stayed at the Petit Castel Hotel while making arrangements for our wedding in the area. The hotel was very clean, quiet, had spacious rooms, and had private parking. There's even a quiet large backyard area to relax in with tables and chairs. The location is perfect for anyone exploring Normandy as it is an easy drive to many of the main sites. The English speaking owner was MORE than helpful with anything we asked. He even volunteered to walk us to something in town that we were looking for and even stayed and translated for us! Now that's service! We will definitely be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Excellent value for money, clean, well appointed, modern, centrally located. Friendly, helpful, English speaking owner. A little gem on the main street in the centre of town with a nice little garden and off road parking out of the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

There is nothing not to like about this place. Only two stars (deserves more) at a bargain price but comfortable and very welcoming. The proprietors clearly take pride in everything they do and provide, from breakfast with surprisingly good coffee to the plastic cow and red telephone box in the garden. An easy 15 minute drive into Honfleur – a perfect position for any tour of Normandy.

Room Tip: Those at the back overlooking the garden are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Castel

Address: 32 Rue Constand Fouche, 27210 Beuzeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Beuzeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beuzeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Petit Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Castel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.