We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, old fashioned luxury that won't break the bank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mesnilgrand

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negreville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mesnilgrand
50260 Negreville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Negreville
Northern England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, old fashioned luxury that won't break the bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This is a charming big old Normandy mill house, restored in English country style, tucked away in the lush backwaters of the Cotentin near Valognes. Peter and Suzanne, the owners, made us feel as welcome as if we had been old friends, combining a relaxed style with spotless surroundings and truly excellent cooking. Touches like the gentle classical music to accompany our croissants, the library of eclectic books and the handy bike store made this a bit special. It would have been very easy to while away a sunny afternoon in the garden, but this peaceful spot is on the "voie verte" cycle trail between Cherbourg and Mont St Michel, so is also great for active outings. All this within 20 minutes of the ferry port, and for less than a box room at a chain hotel in Cherbourg? - absolutely no contest!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Selected Le Mesnilgrand simply because it was so close to the ferry at Cherbourg, which could have been a mistake. We intended to stay for one night but ended up staying for 3 and booking another night for our return leg of the journey back to ol' Blighty.

The food was delicious and the bar comfortable and relaxing. The owners, Suzanne and Pete, were fantastic hosts. We enjoyed two delicious evening meals at the hotel and were recommended wonderful restaurants to try on our travels.

We will certainly be telling our friends about this wonderful treasure and will return.

  • Liked — cleanliness, beautiful french furniture, relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We were amongst the first guests to stay at this hotel when the original owners opened having renovated the beautiful cider farm. Sadly it was sold in 2003/4 to a young single mum, trying to manage on her own.

We took our granddaughters for a long w/e in Sept 04, and we were gutted, the place was a mess, the food was lousy, and the welcome non existent.

We are delighted to find that it has been purchased by someone who will love and take care of this lovely retreat. We are going back to give it another try this year. Fingers crossed we will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We found this hotel in the Alistair Sawday guide and due to its closeness to Cherbourg we decided to book for the first night of our holiday.
We ended up staying for four nights!
The owners, Peter an Suzanne are both English, but definately Francophiles, are very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The evening meals were fantastic, white linen, candle light
and delicious food. Heaven.
We can really recommend this place. We will be back!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

A family run hotel by a British couple. Fantastic building in a quiet country setting.

It's off the beaten track, but that makes it so quiet, but only 20mins from Cherbourg.

Great as a base to explore Normandy, it took me less than 2 hours to visit Mont St Michael, and Briquebec is just up the road.

Great food, fantastic rooms. Will be staying again.

  • Liked — Very clean and traditional
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mesnilgrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mesnilgrand

Address: 50260 Negreville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Negreville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Negreville
Also Known As:
Le Mesnilgrand Negreville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mesnilgrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Mesnilgrand to your Saves list