We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir de la Riviere

Save Saved
You added Manoir de la Riviere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de la Riviere
on the D33, 14310 Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Imperial, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent three fantastic nights a Manoir de la Riviere. Highly recommended. The morning and evening chats made us feel like guests in with long lost friends or relatives. Make sure to allocate at least one night for a fantastic dinner.

The location is convenient for seeing the major sights and there is a small village ~5mins by car for all of the essentials you will nee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After three days in Paris, we began our side trip to Normandy and Brittany by renting a car and driving to the Manoir which would be our first stop. After a somewhat nerve-racking experience in trying to navigate our way out of Paris, we finally managed to arrive at the Manoir just in time for dinner. Despite the relatively late hour, our hosts, Ian and Maureen, made us feel comfortable and at-home right away, letting us settle in over a wonderful meal. Each morning we woke up to one of the most beautiful and peaceful settings imaginable, not to mention incredible breakfasts. This was definitely the best stay of our trip and we look forward to planning another sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear, overlooking a beautiful garden and patio, with incredible sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights while exploring the area and found everything absolutely wonderful. The food was superb...you MUST have the dinner at least one evening...and the rooms tasteful, comfortable and quiet. Ian is a wonderful host and we very much enjoyed his company.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Manoir for four nights in early October. We used it as a base to explore this region of France that we had never been to on previous trips. We flew into Paris and went straight to Gare St Lazar to get the train to Caen. There we picked up a car and drove to the Manior, so we were pretty beat once we arrived.

Iain met us at the door and immediately it was like being greeted by an old friend. Some people simply have the gift of hospitality and he and Maureen really have it. The room was great - very large and comfortable. The building itself is very interesting and they have done quite a job with the renovations.

The other reviews rave about Iain's cooking and we had the same experience. He makes it all seem so effortless, but if you cook at all you know how much work went into it. On one night when he was not cooking, he was perfectly happy for us to use his kitchen to prepare a cheese and snack plate from stuff we had bought in town that day - again, like being in a friend's home.

I could go on much longer, but suffice it to say that Maureen and Iain go out of their way to accomodate the wishes of their guest and create a convivial, warm atmosphere. On a day when I went exploring and my wife decided to stay at the Manoir, Maureen set her up with a spa in town and Iain took her to the appointment!

If you are going to the Normandy area and don't like big, impersonal hotels you should give this a try. We feel as we not only had a great stay but that we now have two new friends in France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a week at Manoir de la Riviere - and can't wait until the next visit. Room was perfect - huge room, beautifully furnished and the most comfortable bed ever. And no noise at all at night.

Iain was the most amazing host - a la carte breakfasts every morning with the best scrambled eggs on earth. We ate there on a few occasions - the menu was fabulous - local produce, perfectly cooked by Iain himself. The steak he did for us one evening has to be tasted to be believed. It really is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Another delight is the self service bar and the fact that Iain was quite happy for us to use his kitchen to prepare things on those evenings when we were to stuffed to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while we toured the D-Day beaches. Very nicely situated just below Bayeux and Caen, out in the country, with a lovely terasse in the back. Ian, the proprieter, is British and extremely friendly. He offered us a tip on his favorite restaurant in Caen and it was perfect (Le Carlotta) for a special evening.
Plenty of parking and very quiet. The manor house was built in the 1500s and is exquisitely decorated. Our room was large and furnished in antiques. The bathroom was huge by European standards with both a large tub and an enclosed shower, and double sinks. Bathrobes were provided.
Breakfast was buffet style and the selection, although small, was of the most excellent quality. Fresh breads, pastries, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, cheese, and an incredible salami were all offered. Ian made sure our coffee never ran out. A well-stocked bar is provided, along with an assortment of wines, all on the honor system. You simply write on a pad of paper what you drank, and we found the prices quite reasonable..
I couldn't recommend Manoir de la Riviere more. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 4 years ago and we promised to bring the family back to celebrate my 40th birthday. We stayed for 3 nights and the hosts Maureen and Iain were the usual friendly, charming, welcoming people you'll find anywhere. This is really like coming home from home as you are encouraged to relax, unwind and treat the place as such. Iain kindly provided two rooms adjacent to each other, one for the children (aged 14, 12 and 10) and one for my wife and I - PERFECT!! We sampled Iain's cooking on two evenings and as ever we were not let down. His skill in the kitchen is matched only by a handfull of top Michelin rated chefs (from experience) and not only this my children shared this great delight - (even using their desert spoons on two occasions to mop up and not waste the sauce on the main course). Rooms and decor are top rated as too are the surroundings, not fogetting the pool and Suana. My 40th Birthday will forever be remembered. I asked my daughter (12 years old) how her holiday was. She replied excellent!!! I asked if she was happy to be back home. Her reply, "not really as Maureen and Iains was more like home and I really want to go back, his food is to die for!!!!
Thank you both for an unforgettable long weekend. We will be back.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Riviere

Address: on the D33, 14310 Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 37 acres of formal gardens and woodland the Manoir is a tranquil and relaxing setting to get away from it all yet only 25minutes from the centre of Caen. The House has welcoming log fires in the winter a heated indoor pool and sauna and a very nice dining room.There is a warm and friendly atmosphere with both French and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manoir de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Riviere Hotel Saint-Louet-Sur-Seulles
Manoir De La Riviere Normandy, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir de la Riviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.