We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Chanoines

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turenne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison des Chanoines
Route de l'Eglise, 19500 Turenne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Turenne
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was traveling with six other woman riding horses through this village and we all agree that this hotel was fantastic. We stayed in the suites across the street from the main hotel and they were very clean, well appointed and beautiful. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was superb. The Chef went out of his way to make two special vegetarian meals that were exceptional. The mussels that were served to several were the best! Wish I had the recipe. The owner and host was very helpful and pleasant. She made us feel VERY welcome. Go out of your way to visit this hotel. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel itself is charming, the village a delight. The rooms are lovely and the restaurants - both indoors and in the garden, excellent. We have stayed twice, and will certainly return, as will our family.
Madame Cheyroux gave us a superb dinner, and great kindness.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had driven past Turenne on a number of occasions previously and always remarked on its spectacular location and apparent charm. Our journey south on this occasion allowed a stopover and we picked the hotel in the centre of the village. The location is certainly appealing. The essentially medieval [with slightly later elements] village stretches up a steep slope culminating at its peak in the remains of the castle, the home of the old regional landowner. Right in the middle La Maison has been created from a collection of old buildings; there is no denying this is a seductive location.

The hotel bedrooms are split between the main building and an extremely venerable house across the road. We had a studio room in the lower level of the annex. It was very secluded with a grotto like quality which might have created a flutter in the claustrophobic. There was no fear of night noise and the facility was well enough equipped but there was a slight sense of under use heightened perhaps by its tendency to encourage condensation. I suspect the main bedrooms offered a more traditional experience.

We dined outside on a self-contained patio a road width from the main hotel building. I thought the food was creative and tasty with some excellent veal and splendid deserts although my wife was a little less enthusiastic than I was. However the meal stretched out because there appeared to be a staff shortage amongst the servers and possibly in the kitchen; everything was slow in arriving despite the fact the dining area wasn't over-populated.

i don't want to sound churlish about La Maison. The landlady was most agreeable and spoke excellent English. The general facilities were certainly comparable with those in equivalent institutions and the setting is exceptional. However we were left with a sense that the operation was slightly understaffed and operating close to the edge. It may of course have been an untypical example and it was clear the kitchen knew what it was doing and the hotel end was run by an experienced hand. It is also marginally but clearly more expensive than similar establishments which inhabit less exotic locations. Still I wouldn't deter anyone from staying here. The site is impressive and the hotel has charm but perhaps the latter needs to tighten up its performance to maintain what has been an enviable reputation.

Room Tip: Probably choose a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Chantal welcomed us warmly to the charming hotel she and Claude, her husband, first started renovating 28 years ago. It's a lovely spot in a village full of flowers and beautiful views. After we settled in, Chantal reviewed the menu and wine choices with us. The dining room and menu are small, 6 tables ---everybody except us, French; 3 choices for main course. Great meal and my favorite preparation of foie gras, so far! Bedroom was large (on the US second floor) up a winding stone staircase that requires some care esp w/ luggage. Room had a small bed perfect for a child and a corner nook with a desk and gorgeous view over the valley. Bathroom large and like everything else spotless. Separate WC. Shower in tub. Free wi-fi worked perfectly in room and in the lovely garden. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Chantal and Claude went out of their way to make our 25th anniversary special. Brilliant experience.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Five years after our first dinner with Chantal and Claude, we returned twice this year. Cuisine is still exquisite (the finest in the region)... the service attentive and helpful...wine options appropriate for menu....presentation delightful! Reservations are a must. Plan on spending the evening and savoring the experience!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The best reasons to go to France are the opportunities to visit enchanting little towns like Turenne and stay and dine in in such charming lodgings as La Maison des Chanoines. Our spacious room very comfortable in a bucolic sort of way with nice little touches and the bathroom was very nice. Our room had a little terrace and sitting there it is easy to forget what century we are in! The setting is like being transported back in time, pastoral and entrancing. Our meal was truly outstanding, do not even think of not eating here. It was obvious a tremendous amount of thought and care had gone into making this the best dining experience possible. Your meal here will be memorable!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison des Chanoines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Chanoines

Address: Route de l'Eglise, 19500 Turenne, France
Location: France > Limousin > Correze > Turenne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Turenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison des Chanoines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Maison des Chanoines to your Saves list