We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Chamberte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Chamberte to your Saves list
La Chamberte
Rue de la Source, 34420 Villeneuve les Beziers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and i Stayed here for only one night in July which was a shame as we would have loved to have stayed longer. The hosts were charming and the hotel equally charming.
The husband is a chef and they normally provide dinner but alas not on this night. If the breakfast was anything to go by it's a shame we missed dinner. I'd have no hesitation in staying here again. The earleir review complaing about the size of everything is obviously used to more main stream hotels that lack the charm and warmth of this type of accomodation. I worry about people who carry a tape measure on holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed at La Chamberte for 4 nights from Feb 23 to 27 of this year. Was in the area on wine business and this small hotel is perfectly situated for me. When I last stayed there in 2006, it was with the original owners. Unfortunately then we were only there for one night and a short one at that. It was very nice and full of character. This time, with new owners, Caroline and Vivian, a couple who used to own a restaurant in Mèze, I had a very lovely stay and was able to appreciate the place better. The food, especially at dinner, was amazing and for that alone it is worth the stay. Bed is comfortable, shower is nice and hot, and it is nice and quiet. C and V made me feel very welcome and comfortable, with a lovely fire roaring in their livingroom, tasty local apéritifs and appetizers before dinner. I wish them much luck going forward, they are already totally booked most nights for the dinner.....and as the seasons warms up, so will the rooms!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have different levels in them, by which I mean steps. This can be confusing at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Believe that La Chamberte has recently had new owners (taking over May 2011) and we stayed for 3 nights (bed, b/fast and dinner) in Sept 2011. Converted wine store, very well designed conversion and we had a simple but charming room. It is run by a young French couple who live on site - they used to run a restaurant near by and the husband is the chef and his wife the front of house host. Both are delightful and the husband is an exceptional chef - set menus each evening including a cheese course with local wine was excellent - inventive, full of flavours and a real gastronomic delight.
The rooms are simple, for sleeping, and we spent all day out and about exploring. This isn't the hotel for you if you want infinity pools and on site entertainment.

Room Tip: sorry - only saw our room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I took my lovely wife on a surprise tour of Languedoc and booked this hotel based on website recommendations. The hotel has been converted from a disused wine storehouse and to be fair to Bruno and his boyfriend, they have generally decorated the place tastefully. This is were the good news ends. I really hesitate to call this place a hotel because of the lack of basic service and facilities as follows:

1. There was no fridge or minibar in the room.

2. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Not even a kettle.

3. There is no swimming pool.

4. There was no TV in the room. (Not actually a big deal for us as we did not travel to Languedoc to watch TV, but at the price the place was charging one expects this as a basic item in the room).

5. The shower looked like something out of my student days: a pipe up the wall with a shower head on the end, a porcelain base below and a plastic pull-to shower curtain (torn). The water flow from the show was rather weak (not too bad though).

6. When it comes to toiletries every expense has been spared - the room comes with a sliver of soap 2x1.5cm. That's it. No shower gel. No shampoo. No toothpaste. No toothbrush. We had to make a trip to the nearby Carrefour.

7. In the room we were staying in, there were wooden support beams for the ceiling. From a distance, they look rather attractive but when you inspect closely you see they are peppered with many holes about 2mm in diameter. I was easily able to press my thumbnail into the wooden beam - it was quite soft. This is a sure sign of termite infestation. Bruno really needs to give Rentokil a call.

8. For pretty well most of the time during the day, there were quite literally no staff around at all. We would frequently see a sign hanging on the gate outside the hotel saying that the staff were away! Bruno would come around each morning to prepare the breakfast, hang around watching the single communal TV or reading papers and then leave. The one exception to this was when it was time for us to leave and pay the bill and then he was certainly there !!

9. There is just one cleaner for the whole building and even then she is only around for part of the morning. And even then the cleaner just spends 10 minutes sweeping the floor and tidying the bed clothes - towels were not changed during the whole time we stayed there.

10. The bathroom towels are not the voluminous fluffy affairs that one comes to expect from a good hotel. These were about 1 x 0.5 metre items and rather stiff and old. (At home we save towels like these for cleaning the kitchen floor).

11. There are no proper parking facilities. Bruno's idea of parking is along a tiny dirt track which runs up the side of La Chamberte. The problem with this is that there are residences at the back of La Chamberte which rely on this track for access. It means that you have to park your vehicle right up against the wall of La Chamberte which is covered in crawling ivy, and in the morning your car is coated in bird droppings.

12. There is wi-fi in La Chamberte - sort of. It was very tempremental. We could not access the wi-fi on the first day because there was no-one around to tell us the password. On subsequent occassions we found ourselves having to wander around the place to find a location where we could get a signal with more than just a single bar and sometimes we could not get any signal at all.

To be fair, Bruno does cook reasonable dinners. But my goodness they are expensive. Also the dinners are not exclusive to the guests in La Chamberte which means that most evenings there are people hanging around the lobby and dining room who were not staying at La Chamberte. It really felt like an invasion of our privacy.

Also to be fair, the breakfast had some nice touches (but it was very basic). The coffee was freshly brewed and not dispensed out of a thermos and the juice was freshly squeezed. However: one day I popped into the kitchen just to say hello and caught the chef smoking and there was an ashtray full of fag ends right next to where the food was being prepared!

Also the location is not bad - situated close to Villeneuve Les Beziers which is a charming little village by the Canal du Midi.

I don't know how Bruno gets away with charging Euro 100 per night. I guess there must be a lack tourist accommodation in the area. This place really does not classify as a hotel. It is a B&B. It is a place for a roof over your head, not a place to hang out and relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We reserved this in dec via 4 e mails with bruno saurel, the owner for 1 nights stay with dinner for 2 on 27th feb.ALL CONFIRMED BY LA CHAMBERTE.We arrived after a long journey to find it locked. we rang the bell many times and waited for half an hour. we then phoned and got a message in french.we then received a call from bruno asking what we wanted.we said we had a cofirmed reservation and it was obvious that he had forgotten.he said chamberte was closed but we could stay at another guest house he had. he would not come and pick us up or guide us and as it was obvious that we were not expected then what would dinner have been like?we said we would leave and go back into beziers itself because we were so amazed he had forgotten us and he laughed.I guess that says it all!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Bruno and his staff have created a delightful boutique oasis that proved to be a wonderful way to kick off our 2 week Canal du Midi cruise. We arrived after 18 hours of plane and train travel to find a large (by Paris standards) and comfortable room waiting for us. This converted winery has been wonderfully renovated and tastefully appointed. The exposed wood beamed ceilings, the dramatic dining room and very comfortable sitting room where breakfast is served made for a restful, welcoming place to stay. Situated on a quiet street just of the main square and close to the Canal, the hotel was ideally situated for our needs and provided a much needed good nights sleep. However it was the dinner served on our arrival that won our hearts. It was a wonderful 3 course meal that could not have been more welcomed after a long day of travel. The food was delicious and the service attentive and helpful. We enjoyed dinner so much that the next day, after picking up our canal boat, we cruised back up the canal and tied up in town so that our newly arrived friends could enjoy a similar dining experience. The food and wine is very reasonably priced and represented a great value. La Chamberte will be a stop on any trip we make in the future to this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

After 9 hours driving we arrived to find the place initially closed with a sign on the door telling us that no-one would be back until an hour's time. Not a good start after so much driving. When it did reopen we were by someone who appeared to be a workman rather than the owners. When we did finally get in my first impression was of great disappointment as the website had really oversold this place. The first room offered was really dark, didn't seem that clean and the only small window opened onto an air conditioning unit on the next building. I went to change the room and was told we could not have another room as they were fully booked. After some persuasion the room was changed to a slightly better one - again very dark with walls painted in a really hideous shade. The place is quite strange and I felt I was staying in a hostel rather than the wonderful place suggested on their website. The only positive was Sam who was a lovely guy and he was very helpful. Breakfast was just ok and have to stay that overall I was very glad to leave this place. We spent three weeks in Provence and this was the low light of the trip accommodation wise - no sign of Bruno or Irwin during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Chamberte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chamberte

Address: Rue de la Source, 34420 Villeneuve les Beziers, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Villeneuve les Beziers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Villeneuve les Beziers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Chamberte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chamberte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.