We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS A MUST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine to your Saves list
Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine
77 rue du petit coteau, 37210 Vouvray, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Vouvray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are planning a trip to the Tours area you must stay in Vouvray at Bagatelle.Anne and her husband Bertrand treat you like long lost family members.Their taste and furnishings are so sophisticated and yet wonderfully gentle.We stayed in their newly built Troglodyte suite and it was a unique and delightful experience.All modern amenities in a room fashioned out of a limestone cave.Ask Anne for restaurant suggestions and you will not be disappointed She suggested restaurants for our three night stay and everyone exceeded our expectations. Fabulous breakfast coupled with suggestions for visits to the towns and Chateaus of the area from Anne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Glorious in every way! Betrand and Anne made each guest feel ever so welcome! They helped with suggestions for sites in the area ( a bike ride to Chenonceaux) and dinner reservations. Breakfast was always delicious and plentiful! They are currently constructing two "caves" for guests. We got a tour and they will be absolutely grand! We would LOVE to return someday!

Room Tip: Every room was wonderful! You will be very pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful inn with amazing decor and great beds, towels, etc. The proprietors were wonderful to talk with (great English) and were very helpful about arranging wine tastings for us. Oh, and the breakfast was huge, varied and delicious.

My only warning is that Vouvray is a little boring at night, and Tours is eh. But if you know you want to stay in Vouvray look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had the good fortune of staying here for 4 nights in early September 2012. The location is wonderful, just outside of Tours. There is a local bus right from their corner that goes into Tours if you wanted to. Parking, always a challenge in small villages, was easy...right outside of their property. It was perfect for us to use as a base from which to do day trips through out the Loire valley...chateau hunting! There are soooooooooooo many to see, and Bertrand and Anne were helpful in advising which ones may be better to visit...and they were not wrong!
The bed and breakfast is a grand home about 300 years old that has been added on to over the years and beautifully renovated. It gives one a good idea of how living in style would have been all those years ago.
We were in two rooms which were both lovely, complete with ensuite. I would have to say that I prefered the room named Old Goriot in that it was not so grand. It was certainly big enough and looked out over the back yard area.
Breakfast was a delight...typical French breakfast with fresh baguettes, croissants, pastries, wonderful yogurt and fabulous goat cheese...you could not leave the table hungry!
The owners, Bertrand and Anne, were very gracious and helpful. Bertrand grew up in the Saumur area and so was very knowledgeable about the Loire valley. They gave us many tips on what to see/do and arranged for us to see a performance of the Cadre Noire in Saumur, a true highlight of our trip.
The gardens of the home are beautiful and peaceful. We were able to spend time outside in them. There is a beautiful swimming pool available for use.
Another interesting feature of this property is that on it are troglodytes (hope I have spelled this right!), rooms/homes that have been carved out of rock. There are many around in the area, but to be able to see them up close was very interesting. They are in the process of converting them into accommodation for tourists...they should be quite something!

Room Tip: We had the Eugenie Grandet room for one night and it was lovely...for us too big of a room if that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay during your visit to the Loire Valley look no further. All the other reviews are right, this place is faultless. Super-comfortable beds, soft towels, great contemporary bathrooms, lovely pool - all in a beautiful house in a quiet area near vinyards and chateaux and a few minutes' drive from Tours. Ann and Bertrand are exceptional hosts and have put a lot of thought and + effort into making your stay fabulous. The breakfast was the best we've ever had in France, and we've had a lot!!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandouineau, Propriétaire at Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks a lot for your kindness. We are looking forward to hosting you again when you stay in the Loire Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at several bed and breakfasts during our stay in the Loire Valley, and this one absolutely blew the others away. Ann and Bertrand made us feel like we were special guests in their home, and went way above and beyond to welcome us. I am not somebody that is easy to please, and I somehow manage to find a flaw in almost everything. Our accommodations were without a flaw. The suite in which we stayed was huge and perfectly appointed, the bathroom was gorgeous and came with the softest towels and the plushest personalized robes. The bed was so comfortable that I wished we could strap it to our rental car and drive to back to the US. And the proprietors? In a league of their own. From organizing a visit to a nearby winery to driving us to an ATM and the train station and making us dinner reservations, I have never had anyone take such a personal interest in making sure we had a great vacation. Totally reaffirmed my faith in b&bs. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfect B&B for us, as we stop over on the home to the Channel Port. The bedroom was lovely, a choice of extremely well planned lighting, a massive bathroom with bath overlooking the garden, tea and coffee making facilities (something rarely seen in a B&B) and relaxing decor. Breakfast was imaginative and the charming hosts had shopped specifically for gluton free items for one of the guests.
Vouvray needs exploring, not just as a stop over, so we will be back and for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine

Address: 77 rue du petit coteau, 37210 Vouvray, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Vouvray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Vouvray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagatelle is an elegant mansion built in the middle of the 18th century. Located in Vouvray, near Tours, it offers an exceptional setting for relaxation in the heart of the Touraine Vineyards and very close to the most prestigious "Chateaux" of the Loire Valley. The five bedrooms, including two caved ones, are comfortable, with a refined decoration, and offer separate bathroom and toilet. The yard and the swimming pool give a complementary taste of quality for any stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, chambres d'hotes en Touraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.