We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cottage, charming hosts in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chateau de Fontenay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chateau de Fontenay
Save
You added Le Chateau de Fontenay to your Saves list
5 Fontenay, 37150 Blere, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Blere B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A lovely cottage, charming hosts in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed in the cottage La Closerie close by the chateau which is set in beautiful grounds on the banks of the Cher. The cottage is newly renovated with good bathroom and kitchen. Conveniently located near the village of Blere with easy access to the great chateaux of the Loire. Charming English speaking hosts, Natalie and Philippe, were very helpful and knowledgable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Chateau de Fontenay is situated in an ideal location for visiting several great places in the Loire region, but in itself it is a magnificent place to explore with all its acres of land including forest and wine yards.
We were warmly welcomed by Nathalie Carli, who together with her family is making a dream come true here. No wonder they got spellbound by this place!
We stayed in the 'Le Cher' room in the castle for two nights; a specious, bright and lovely decorated room topped by its beautiful view over the Cher river.
As other guests, we also borrowed bikes and went for a ride along the Cher in the morning; in the afternoon we walked around in the garden and forest of the castle and in the early evening the son, Jean Louis, guided us with much affection and knowledge through the wine tasting.
Breakfast was delicious with lots of home made specialties. We also followed Nathalie's dinner recommendations and were very satisfied in this regard too.
We give our warmest recommendation and keep our precious memories of a fantastic stay!
from KICS - Berne

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Despite arriving very late at night we were warmly welcomed by Nathalie Carli and her son Jean (and also their friendly obedient dogs Choco and Nougat!). The Chateau and grounds are beautiful, recently restored since the family have moved there, the rooms very stylish but homely at the same time. The view from the bedroom was stunning, overlooking the Cher river. Breakfasts were delicious, with homemade confitures and tartes, as well as grape juice from the vineyards. They had bikes which were free to borrow and we cycled along the river path just outside the walls of the grounds 6km to Chateau de Chenonceau, a great day trip. The winemaker who works in the Fontenay vineyards and produces an array of white red and rose wines lives just down the road and his wife gave us a private tasting - all very delicious and very reasonably priced about 4-6 euros a bottle. All in all a lovely relaxing and charming place to get away from it all, and very accessible (we drove home to England via Calais which was 5 hours away).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Chateau de Fontenay over Easter 2010 with my husband and 2 other friends and usually I do not write reviews unless my experience was truly brilliant.

From the moment we drove up through the gates of Le Clos de Fontenay and up onto the circular driveway that led to the chateau, we marvelled at the beauty of the residence and the peace and serenity that surrounded it.

Le Clos de Fontenay sits just outside the town of Blere on the River Cher, is a beautifully restored 19th century residence of our hosts, Nathalie and Phillipe. From the moment we arrived til the time we left, we were always greeted with smiles and lovely stories from them both and their 3 lovely dogs (that live on site). Both Nathalie and Phillipe were extremely friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to recommend and book restaurants for us as well as recommending places to visit.

They have bicycles on site which we were able to borrow and ride to Chenonceaux (a 8km leisurely ride along the River Cher). Along with a vineyard on site, we did some wine tastings and came away with quite a few bottles each.

I could go on about this place and how beautiful the inside and the grounds were, and how marvellous our hosts were, but you really need to pay a visit to understand what I mean.

It really made our trip to the Loire Valley one we'll never forget.


~Trish~

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Le Chateau de Fontenay, a B and B, is an absolute gem. It is centrally located in the Loire valley, six kilometers from Chenonceau and minutes from the picturesque town of Blere. We wanted a central location to visit the great chateaux and we were fortunate to find this lovely place where we stayed for three nights.

The property is magnificently situated on the river Cher ,surrounded by vineyards and beautiful scenery. It is a large 3 story chateau with all the modern amenities,including wifi . From the quick response to our email inquiries to the delicious breakfast with fresh bread, homemade jams and fruit, to the great wine made on the property, our hostess, Nathalie and her family could not have been more gracious.

We stayed in the room "Le Cher" which had an amazing view over looking the Cher river. The room was large with a comfortable king size bed and a very modern bathroom
with towel warmers. We had a wine tasting and liked the wine so much that we left with 2 cases.

Nathalie and her family made our visit to the Loire valley spectacular. They made us feel right at home, yet treated us like royalty and the fact that they spoke some English was a bonus for us. As much as we loved visiting the many chateaux, we would want to return to the Loire valley just to stay at Le Chateau de Fontenay and visit with this delightful family. We definitely recommend this B and B and its location.
Just simply outstanding !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chateau de Fontenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Fontenay

Address: 5 Fontenay, 37150 Blere, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Indre-et-Loire > Blere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chateau de Fontenay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.