We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Chateau in Brittany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Talhouet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochefort en Terre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Talhouet
Save
You added Chateau de Talhouet to your Saves list
56220 Rochefort en Terre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Class Chateau in Brittany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

This grand house certainly lived up to the description on the website. The chateau was well signposted once on the right road and we were made very welcome by M. Soulaine and his two dogs.
Our room was large and well appointed and we enjoyed some late September sun walking in the grounds.
Drinks before and after dinner were served in a salon filled with antiques and M. Soulaine offered an extensive menu. We were the only guests, but the dining room still felt cosy. Dinner was excellent and good value.
A good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed followed by a late breakfast rounded off our visit perfectly. We only stayed one night on our way south, but thoroughly enjoyed it and would happily recommend to friends.

  • Liked — A fine old house, lovingly restored
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Helder
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

great place, quiet, beautiful situated with nice gardens and with a lot of original style-elements. it houses a restaurant with almost a private chef. excellent traditional quisine. jean pol is a charming owner and host. after the dinner you can relax in the small or the big hall. these are furnished with antique gobelins, furniture, mirrors, fireplace etc. on the estate there even is a prehistoric site with standing stones in the forest.

  • Liked — estate, views, gardens, food, hospitality, quiet evenings in the halls
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We recently spent 2 wks touring Brittany and this property was a highlight of our trip. M. Soulaine speaks excellent English and welcomes his guest as GUESTS - we felt as though we were staying in the (castle) of a friend. The house is in the country and there is little to do beyond enjoying the extensive slightly wild but bucolic grounds and playing with his wonderful friendly dogs (a big wolfhound puppy and his little fluffy friend). It is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings, good company and gourmet food. Our every whim was accommodated. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable half tester bed, perfect darkness and quiet. Bathroom was modern with nice amenities. We wished we could stay longer and would consider returning to Brittany purely to stay here again.

  • Liked — beautiful building, location and great welcome
  • Disliked — could be a little hard to find but well worth the effort
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed at the Chateau Talhouet in October 2006 for one night. It is a little tricky finding it as it is outside Rochefort-en-Terre. The chateau has been lovingly restored by M. Soulaine over a period of 17 years. The rooms are lovely. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms for 140 Euros and it was clean and pretty with a spic-n-span small bathroom. We had dinner there that evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We would highly recommend this lovely stopover on a tour of Brittany.

  • Liked — the chateau itself
  • Disliked — a little difficult to find
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Talhouet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Talhouet

Address: 56220 Rochefort en Terre, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Rochefort en Terre
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rochefort en Terre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Talhouet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.