We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away - disgusting and dirty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Altos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Altos Hotel to your Saves list
Altos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Boulevard Du Luxembourg | Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 50300 Avranches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Avranches
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay away - disgusting and dirty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we booked this hotel, the pictures online looked decent so we thought we would give it a try, as we made our reservation a bit last minute. Once we had checked in, we went back downstairs to the concierge to see whether we would get our money back, as we no longer wanted to stay there. Of course, he said that was not possible, so we had to stay in the room for the night.

It was disgusting!!! I think we were in one of the rooms that hadn't been renovated yet... dirty carpet, awful walls... the sheets at least looked clean, but it took some convincing to get into them at night. The bathroom was the worst! No shower head holder, and the hose was mouldy and disgusting! The tiles were dirty, everything looked very shabby and run down. The toilet smelled gross as well.. We left by 8 am the next day as we couldn't wait to get out of there already.

Terrible, terrible hotel - don't stay here. In hindsight, we should have gone to stay elsewhere that night, but we would have lost the 140 euros we had already paid.

Room Tip: NONE!!!!!! But if you must, ask for a newly renovated room. We were told the bathrooms are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELALTOS, Responsable réception at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello, the hotel ensures a hygienic absolutely faultless, told 2 Women Chamber extremely dedicated and courageous. Your comment loses credibility by questioning the results of their difficult work , especially recognized by our regulars customers. Reception and Staff thank them here for their efforts and their dedication.
The chamber 15 that you were 3 adults, is a family room for 4 people, with a very special decoration, psychedelic style 70 years, very popular with children and adolescents. Picture is presented on the internet, but we regret that you did not appreciate.
It is also planned to replace the carpet in this room next winter, following a regular renewal cycle of 5 years. It has a look and a normal level of wear for this time, but it is well maintained and very clean.
To satisfy you after your arrival, we have proposed two bedrooms, (2 + 1 guests) at the same rate. You refused this proposal to your advantage because you prefer rather get money compensation.
ALTOS hotel meets all its commitments, but can not give in to unfounded claims, under threat of abusive comments.
Best regards. Cedric, Receptionist and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
46
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location; it is 500 metres from the cathedral of Avranches and perfect for a visit to the Mount st Michel.
The bedroom was large and very clean. The parking was safe and we could park there easily.
The staff was friendly and the owner of the hotel was very helpful as he helped us solve a problem with a rented car. He made several phone calls on our behalf and made it possible to solve everything at our content.
We would choose this hotel again, it offers more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

A good value hotel. A pleasant drive to mont st michel. Parking 5 minutes walk to a few cafes and another 10 to the centre of town Lovely breakfast but no air conditioning is a drawback in the summer Staff very polite and helpful. 25 mon drive to MSM

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us, we were passing through on way to mont st michel and wanted somewhere not too expensive. The hotel is clean, quiet, big rooms and staff very helpful. Free wifi in the hotel. They offer overnight parking for €5 but you can just park on the street for free. We walked into Avranches, a very pretty town, it's at least a 15 min walk, up a hill, but you could always drive. The town is very quiet in the evening - eat before 9pm! It's only about 25 mins from mon st michel.
We didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

On a recent driving trip through France, we stayed overnight in several 2 star hotels. This hotel offered the best value in the 2 star range that we encountered. The room was bigger, more modern and better equipped than any of the others. It was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. There was secure parking at the back of the hotel although there was an extra 5 Euro charge.The hotel is located about a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Avranche where there are a number of nice restaurants. The restaurant beside the hotel is not very impressive - menu is limited (there were only three choice of mains courses on our visit). Food quality is adequate and expensive for what we got. The breakfast was above average and nicely presented. It is a very good hotel for a short stay and does offer value for money. A special word for the receptionist - I did not get her name but she was extremely pleasant, efficient, courteous and friendly. An absolute delight to engage with.
Would I stay there again?. Yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The best USP of this hotel is the short distance (15 km) to Mont St. Michel. It is OK for a 1 night stop or short stay. It offers fair quaity for money. Breakfast a little below average. Entering the hotel after reception hours is slighty awkward in the dark. Staff friendly but distant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Nice, clean hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos Hotel

Address: 37 Boulevard Du Luxembourg | Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 50300 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary decor and trendy design for your hotel with Spa-Jacuzzi, sauna and massage, near Mont Saint-Michel, near protected beaches between the Cotentin and Brittany Coasts, Granville and Saint Malo. Design rooms for romantic getaway, and family rooms for your holidays in Normandy.Altos is 15 minutes from the Abbey of Mont Saint-Michel, a historic site by the UNESCO, and near Avranches downtown, for a quiet and peaceful night, a little further away from the crowds of visitors. The best partner restaurants near Hotel Altos amaze you with their value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos Hotel Avranches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.