We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chevrefeuille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Chevrefeuille to your Saves list
Le Chevrefeuille
Pechboutier | Dordogne Valley, 24220 Saint-Cyprien, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent five nights here while we explored the Cro-Magnon caves and museums and visited Sarlat. It was perfect - great central location to see the sites, wonderful rooms, fabulous breakfast and really pretty grounds. We went swimming in the nice pool after a long day of tramping around caves. Sara and her family were wonderful hosts. She helped us plan our sightseeing and gave us great suggestions on places to visit and stop for lunch. We also had dinner one night prepared by Ian in their peaceful outdoor courtyard which was delicious. I chose this place partly on the Trip Advisor recommendations which were really on the mark with Le Chevrefeuille.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
135
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used Le Chevrefeuille as a base for three days, as we toured the cave areas, Sarlat, and other sights on this side of Dordogne river. We loved everything- the room, fabulous breakfast, tiny hamlet to stroll. What a pleasure to relax at the end of the day in the gardens with a picnic supper. Sara made us feel at home, helping with sights, maps, and booking a lovely restaurant. Would love to return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a long day of travel Sara gave us such a warm welcome. Sara was an amazing hostess and extremely helpful. I was traveling with my sister and we had a large room with two large beds. The grounds and surrounding area were beautiful. I can't say enough great about this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very pretty and peaceful place to stay with wonderfully welcoming hosts and lots for the children to do. The pool and the rooms are very nice and as Chevrefeuille is reasonably small it has a personal and relaxing feel. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous with lots of things to do for days out with the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sara and Ian are amazing at making their guests feel welcome. On the night of our arrival we wee too late fir the supermarket but within 5 minutes we had been presented with a fabulous super and carafe of wine. Ian's meals were fabulous and it is a nice touch to have this option alongside self catering. Outdoor facilities were great for kids and they could run/ crawl freely. Pool is not heated so it was a bit chilly during our 1st few days but soon warmed up :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first visit to the Dordogne, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We were traveling with our 17 year old grandson, so we reserved the very spacious and lovely "family suite" for three nights in late June. Sara was most helpful in assisting us with tips for visiting nearby Font-de-Gaume and for recommending dining options. On the last evening of our stay we were able to enjoy the table d'hôte menu prepared by Ian---a perfect way to end our visit to this charming and serene B&B. This location is also perfect for visiting the nearby castles of Beyrac and Castelnaud and the Hanging Gardens of Marqueyssac. From our warm welcome with a glass of wine to our early morning departure when Sara provided us with goodies for the car, we had a wonderful time here and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's not easy to find accommodations for a family with three little boys (2, 2 & 4) that we all love. This was the first time we have ever stayed anywhere and truly enjoyed every moment of our (all too brief) vacation.

We arrived in Dordogne from Paris at the peak of summer temperatures in July. We promised the boys a fun week and time at the pool- and staying at Le Chevrefeuille was just what we needed.

The family room comfortably held us all- with wonderful breezes at night through the open windows and a ceiling fan in our bedroom. The sunrise as seen from the tower of our room was unlike any I have ever seen before.

We loved the saltwater pool, delicious breakfast and friendly hosts. Our boys adored playing with Alice in the play room and my husband and I took advantage of the culinary side of Le Chevrefeuille for our 7th anniversary which we celebrated upon our arrival.

With so much to do in and around the Dordogne area- it's the kind of special place that small kids and teens can easily enjoy. We visited caves and saw prehistoric drawings, and made memories that they're still talking about into the fall.

Sara was even kind enough to mail our forgotten items- which was so very appreciated! We felt very at home and free to be a family on vacation having a good time together. Truly hoping to stay here again next summer.

I wrote a full review here at http://travelmamas.com/le-chevrefeuille-bed-and-breakfast-for-families-in-dordogne/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chevrefeuille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chevrefeuille

Address: Pechboutier | Dordogne Valley, 24220 Saint-Cyprien, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cyprien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cyprien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Le Chevrefeuille, perfectly located in the heart of the Dordogne valley just outside Les Eyzies. Le Chevrefeuille is a beautiful 18th-century farmhouse complex combining modern comfort with historical charm. Located in the picturesque and tranquil hamlet of Pechboutier, Le Chevrefeuille offers five charming en-suite rooms and three self-contained gites, each with a private terrace and garden. Enjoy a magnificent meal of fine food and local wine freshly prepared by Ian, our trained chef and served in our stunning central courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Chevrefeuille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chevrefeuille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.