We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place for a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau De La Cote to your Saves list
Chateau De La Cote
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24310 Bourdeilles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Neat Place for a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My brother had his wedding at Chateau De la Cote. This is a great venue for a wedding. The grounds are amazingly well groomed and picturesce. My room was in one of the towers and although a bit dated it can be expected with the age of the chateau. Oliver was a little difficult to communicate with since I have a limited french vocabulary, but they were great with immediately addressing anything we asked about. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    18
    17
    22
See reviews for
46
163
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We entertained our daughter and son-in-law's wedding guests at Chateau de la Cote and had a wonderful couple of days in a magical setting.

The Chateau is set up for weddings, and although the proprietor, Olivier, speaks some English it would be profitable to be able to at least read some French.

The Chateau has a romantic appearance and the guestrooms have a rustic charm.

The ceremony was set amongst the linden trees in the extensive Chateau grounds where there were many sylvan photo opportunities. The Reception Hall, converted from a stable, was long and narrow but suited the number of guests we had invited and offered a blank canvas for our own ideas for adornment.

We would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss the menu and the catering arrangements at greater length to avoid misunderstandings, but on the whole the food was tasty and plentiful.

We were given plenty of time to access the Reception Hall in order to decorate it, and provision was arranged to move the outdoor elements of the day to an indoor venue should the weather prove inclement, as it had threatened to be stormy.

All in all, if you are seeking a venue for a romantic wedding in France, the Chateau de la Cote offers very good possibilities.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually furnished and are unusual in shape and layout. Look at the room before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We visited this hotel some years ago. Since then my husband has become a wheelchair user. I booked in February 2014 for a stay in August. I was very clear about my husband's needs and the website said their was an annex room suitable. When we arrived at 2.30pm, we were initially told we were too early and sat in the lounge until our room was ready. We were then directed to the 'gatehouse' at the bottom of a long drive ( at least 2-300 yards). When we got there it had five stairs and no hand rail up to the front door. The room was very small, poorly furnished and the decor drab. My husband was virtually trapped in the room. I had thought by booking early and giving a comprehensive explanation of my husband's needs that they could have found us a suitable room. We felt that we had just been hidden away and left too it.
I complained and said that we needed to move and the woman on reception was very helpful and tried to find us another hotel nearby which she did.
We will not go back and are very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night as it looked a wonderful hotel from the pics we had seen online. When we got there it looked spectacular from the outside but the room itself was disappointing, quite basic and plain.

Staff were not that helpful, when we arrived in after a trip nearby at about 10.30pm we were practically ignored in the bar area only then to be told that we could not get even one drink as they were closed.

Wifi is useless only working within a few yards of the reception, totally false claim for them to say they have wifi.

Location is some distance from nearest main road.

Wouldn't recommend unless you just wanted to chill for a while. Highly recommend a visit to Brantome a beautiful little town not too far away

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had our wedding party at chateau de la cote in May 2014. The views were amazing and we had perfect weather on the day. The chateau is absolutely stunning and all the rooms are very tradition and unique. The food was delicious and we loved our French wedding cake they made for us! Best day of our life's so far and all our family and friends were speechless when they arrived at the venue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The buildings outside was stunning! The welcome from reception was very warmly given by a friendly Frenchman with some limited English.
Apart from that, the inside was furnished a little as my grandma would furnish a castle, not a problem at all but just not as luxurious as the outside may have led me to believe it might be. The breakfast is limited and not worth doing, we went down an hour and a half before it closed and managed to snatch the last of the pastries (they had not been replenished for some time before we got there and were not while we were down there). I'd suggest going to the boulangerie in Bourdeleilles (about a ten minute drive door to door) where we had the best pain au raisin and freshly baked bread at a fraction of the price!
Thin walls!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A perfect choice if you are looking for relaxation. The owner and staff were very friendly & helpful. We had a room on the second floor which had fabulous views of the countryside, was clean, had plenty of hot water, clean towels daily. Bourdeilles is about a 10 minute drive away. It is an interesting medieval village with lovely restaurants. Brantome is about 15 minute drive and has picturesque restaurants overlooking the river. We would certainly recommend this idyllic French chateau if you are looking for a get-away-from-it-all break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De La Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.