We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark & Aisling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau De La Cote to your Saves list
Chateau De La Cote
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24310 Bourdeilles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Maguiresbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mark & Aisling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

An absolute quality Chateau to stay. We got engaged here in August and stayed for a few days to relax and enjoy the beautiful region in which this georgeaus Chateau is set. Beautiful food and wonderful service including a magnificent Champagne list from the cellar. Highly recommend. Bring on our next visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    18
    17
    22
See reviews for
46
163
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I was so surprised that the clientele was French! We were two couples and we all agreed it was the worst meal of our almost three week trip. The prices were very high for the ingredients and quality of the food Nd the wine price list was way over priced for the selection. Avoid this restaurant

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I tried booking this hotel some years ago but it was full. I stayed one night this August and was underwhelmed. The Chateau itself is very pretty, and the setting very peaceful. The public rooms in the restaurant wing are not very grand, although the fireplaces are impressive. The restaurant is excellent, and the staff welcoming. However, for €120 I found our bedroom a little tired; bathroom tiles need attention to the grouting. The bedspread was showing its age; and there were some utterly pointless, small pictures on the bedroom wall. Once was enough.

Room Tip: GO for the most expensive tower suite as reviewed by Sawday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful chateau, were the surroundings, facilities and staff were excellent. We got engaged on our stay and the chateau oozed romance love and atmosphere. The experience was truely memorable and we will most definitely return to the Chateau De La Cote x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My parents's chose Chateau De la Cote as the venue for their 50th wedding anniversary celebration. We had the exclusive use of the chateau and gite for the weekend with 33 family members and friends staying on site and another 10 joining us for meals. As a thunderstorm rolled over the French countryside, it was not hard to image living in the chateau in a bygone era. The rooms were large and comfortable, although somewhat outdated. A fan would have been nice as it was 88F at 11pm. The staff were attentive to our needs and I can not fault the chef or his staff - we had 2 wonderful evening meals served in the cellar! A English to French translator did come in handy at breakfast to ask for cold milk for cereal.
Overall very positive experience with lots of memories. Regret not taking a group photograph on the front steps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Accidentally found this place looking for a short cut from Bourdeilles to Perigueux (bad idea otherwise) and immediately fell in love and made a booking. It was well worth it. Beautiful chateau, lovely grounds, charming staff. Loads of kirs by the pool and amazing room (the one with the terrace on the tower). It is true that the floors are creaky and the wallpaper perhaps outdated but hey, it's a chateau ... The only slight disappointment was the food but the chef was really unfortunate that we had dinner the night before at the Moulin de L'Abbay in Brantome, which is simply second to none ...

Room Tip: Choose the tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night, the food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious, the chateau was gorgeous, the staff super friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. Only issue I might have had was that the rooms are not soundproofed, so i could hear people walking around the very squeaky (oooold) floors, and at night the crickets and wild animals could be heard haha, not really a drawback, I actually quite enjoyed that. Oh, the bathrooms didnt have a standing shower, you had to hold up the shower head, so that was a little annoying, but not enough to not absolutely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De La Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.