We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware this looks very good from the outside however ..........” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau De La Cote to your Saves list
Chateau De La Cote
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24310 Bourdeilles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware this looks very good from the outside however ..........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in, what we were informed, was the best room in the chateau. It was in fact a second floor suite in one of the towers.
To describe the suite as tired would be an understatement. Frankly this room had not been renovated for over twenty years - maybe longer - and sadly this also included the bed which was worn out. The chateau smelt like an elderly persons' home and I wonder if this was a clue to it's past?
When you pay over Euros350 for a room, breakfast and dinner you are entitled to expect a higher standard of accommodation. We even had to pay extra for the WiFi service that only worked in one of the common rooms. The common areas were poorly presented and needed decoration but it was not only this that let the property down. There was no elegant period furniture or large oil paintings of past owners. It did not feel like a chateau so I would think very long and hard before booking to stay here. Don't be fooled by the rather fine postcard of the outside and grounds! .
Had we not paid the Euros100 deposit we would have checked out immediately but we feared that we would not see the deposit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    18
    17
    22
See reviews for
46
163
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Have just returned from a one night stay at the chateau. We stayed as part of a package including dinner, breakfast and visit to Monbazillac chateau and winery. We really enjoyed our visit. The food was excellent and the staff welcoming. We had a tower room which was 3 star but could do with a little refurbishment - there were holes in the curtains and a crack in the washbasin. All very warm and cosy. Felt a bit like Rapunzel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Don’t look for this in Brantome, despite the address. It is a good 6 miles out of town in a secluded setting with verdant views in all directions. We took a 3 night, one dinner and three breakfasts package for 520 euro. For that you get the best room in the hotel, huge (two floor walkup), 4-poster bed, sitting area with couch, table with 2 chairs, bathroom in a connected tower with a spiral staircase to a private terrace, difficult to describe but certainly unique. Wi-fi (they say only in the lounge but it worked fine in the room), Kleenex but no washcloths, mini-bar, TV but no English language. WiFi came with our package but otherwise 4 euro as did the 14 euro breakfast. It was fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I organised my wife's 40th birthday at the Chateau de la Cote. I chose it well in advance because the setting is beautiful. Very old world, small French chateau looking out over fields of sunflowers. I needed a place to lodge upto 60 guests and host a "vin d'honneur" plus dinner and dancing. From the first moment I met with the owner Olivier I was impressed by his approach. He is very welcoming and very hands on, but more importantly was the flexibility and support in helping put ideas together and into a plan.
We ended up organising a helicopter arrival, aperitif plus jazz band, dinner & speeches (with projector etc), plus dancing. All went superbly which I can say in a large part came from Olivier and his team supporting us in the planning whilst we were back in the UK.

The afternoon and evening went brilliantly. A great team set everything up and the food and service was excellent - merci Francoise. Based on other reviews I can recommend that the key is making sure you're clear on what you want. Olivier regularly confirms requests by email to make sure you know what you're getting. Its all in French - as it should be - its France.

All guests were very happy with both rooms and breakfast. The pool is excellent and several of our guests had small children.

Stay in the turret room if you want a night under the stars with champagne.

The food & drink were excellent quality and any question I had either before or during the event was dealt with perfectly.

I'm sure others haven't been so lucky, but I can highly recommend Chateau de la Cote for its setting, its rooms & romance and the team & service.

Its not the Ritz or the Radisson etc - its old school Chateau with creaky floors and doors, but its wonderfully quirky and romantic.

Merci Olivier - we had an unforgettable 24 hours. If I was getting married again I'd be back there!

My wife and I are heading back next August for something a little more quiet. We can't wait especially as this time we can explore Brantome & the region.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Our daughter got married there on the 7th June. A beautiful chateau just like a fairy story setting. the manager was extremely rude and I am sure they never heard of customer services. some of our guests had to stay in a little house down at the bottom of a long drive,which was not pointed out to us when we booked,the prices of these were very high.
The swimming pool was not in use. After paying a huge amount for the wedding myself and husband could not even have a meal at 9pm and not even a little cheese and bread, There were french people still eating in the restaurant.
Our photographer lost her purse and could not get into her hotel in Brantome at 3am. They threatened to call the police if she slept in her car at the chateau.or if she slept on the floor in another persons room they would charge her.
Remember the rest of the world has great places with good customer services,we do not have to go to France. I am Irish and we just love welcoming people into our country.

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Disliked — customer services,rude management
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the chateau for 3 nights in August 2006.
Looking at some of the other comments I had to note what a great time we had whilst we were there. We stayed in a turret room and had a deal including the evening meal. The food was fantastic and the location made one feel one was french nobility.
The interior of the building was not gleaming like in a chain hotel but the character and food are the key to success here. I would definitely reccomend this hotel for those who value gastronomy and style.

  • Liked — Great food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We recently arranged our wedding ceremony and reception at Chateau de la cote. The property is beautiful and the rooms (at first glance) look amazing.

Our ceremony and reception went very well in-spite of a very difficult manager. He seemed completly unaware that we were having the ceremony at the Chateau even though this was arranged through him well in advance. He is also not responsive to questions via e-mail. He turned up on the day of our ceremony and reception wearing jeans at around 1 PM and kept us waiting before he would talk to us (just before our ceremony).

Once he had argued with us about arrangements - he finally snapped into action and setup our ceremony in about 20 minutes - about half the time he had argued with us.

Some of his staff are very helpful - he is not. He never congratulated or thanked us.

With regards to the rooms they are beautiful but not pratical. The turret room has a bath with a shower attachment but no shower curtain and is carpetted and not tiled. Other guests in the Chateau had problems with leaking water and dead bats(?).

The breakfast that is served is also uninspired and dissapointing.

The Chateau could be a truly fantastic venue - but I would wait for new management.

  • Liked — Fantastic building
  • Disliked — the manager
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De La Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.