We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality with a little something else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Griffons

Les Griffons
1 Le Bourg, 24310 Bourdeilles, France
+33 (0)5 53 45 45 35
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality with a little something else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Eaten here twice in a week and planning final visit on Thursday. Service very attentive, wine quality very good too and explained in detail by the owner. I could say that it is a little pricy but that would be unfair as it has the quality to carry the price. Three visits certainly puts it into perspective. Would have gone tonight but it was fully booked. Prawn starter excellent contains coconut which was a subtle surprise. Duck main course very good. My 10 year old loved the fish turbot as a special, my 8 year old daughter enjoyed her beef. I had duck pinkie and it was gorgeous, blue steak and again perfect. Apparently the sweetbreads were delicious too. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The duck confit was the best I have ever had. I also enjoyed the rabbit and the foie gras. Dark chocolate souffle. Wines paired beautifully with your meal and history about the wines is great!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sensational dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Beautifully composed menus wish light balanced dishes of freshly sourced produce. Inventive combinations of flavours all cooked perfectly. Wine list varied and selective. All this at a very fair price. Rooms pretty good also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly outstanding meal - impeccable service, fine food and wine and a reasonable price tag. Up scale without being stuffy and very welcoming to non-French speakers. Truly a highlight of our holiday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Les Griffons is an experience. However don't let that put you off! Superb food and great service. From start to finish we couldn't fault it. Professional yet friendly. From the bits andbobs you get at the start thru to the coffees at the end it is a treat to eat there,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Griffons also viewed

Bourdeilles, Dordogne
Brantome, Dordogne
 
Bourdeilles, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Griffons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Griffons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.