We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Gavroche - Excellent and very good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
14 Rue Neuve, 33390 Blaye, France
05 57 58 21 03
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Blaye
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Le Gavroche - Excellent and very good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous food - we had the price fixe menu - which was excellent. Service was fabulous, and the food delicious! Don't miss it! They open at 7:30pm for dinner service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Blaye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Blaye is not exactly over-supplied with restaurants and we were delighted to find this little restaurant not far from the fortress. The menu included traditional French fare (duck, veal, foie gras, etc.) and everything was delicious and well cooked. Service was friendly and accommodating. We would happily eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chef Patrick is a Genius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Try the smoked duck starter and then have the guinea fowl stuffed with forcemeat - tres manifique! This restaurant is in a little side street next to a pizzeria - talk about night and day! The food here is excellent, you must try it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had come to Blaye to have a look at the fortress which is in wonderful condition. We wandered around the new town after exploring the old ruins and found a little street that wa closed off during the lunch hour to traffic and the tables for La Gavroche and a nearby pizza restaurant were allowed to spread out in the shade of the old buildings. We were charmed by our waitress and excited about the food. We shared a pot of foie gras (this is duck country) and then my husband had leg of guinea fowl and I had rack of lamb. There isn't much I like better than rack of lamb, but I have to say that the stuffed leg/thigh of roasted guinea fowl was one of the best recipes that I have tasted in a long time. I would definitely go adck to this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pego Spa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful French food as it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

An excellent, good value restaurant, serving superb French food as it should be served. Would happily recommend to anyone and if we should be in the area again would be glad to eat there once more. The portions were quite large and the menu was interesting and varied. They also have a good Menu du Jour for 15€.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gavroche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.