We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Muskegon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Muskegon to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Muskegon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 East Ellis Road, Muskegon, MI 49441   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's a Hampton Inn, so don't expect luxury. It's clean, the employees were all very friendly and efficient and the free breakfast can't be beat. We actually stayed in one of their suites, it was quite roomywith a lovely large bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuskegonHamptonInn, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out the Guest Service Survey in regards to your resent stay at the Muskegon Hampton Inn. Feedback from great guests such as your self helps us to improve and provide the excellent service that Hilton is known worldwide for.

The management and staff at the Hampton Inn were very happy to hear you had a great stay! Thank you again for your feed back. We look forward to providing that same great service in the future!

Hospitably Yours,


Tara Mack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    53
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
72
37
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here the night before a day trip to Michigan's Adventure. It's conveniently right off the highway, which I was a little concerned about, but for one night, took the leap. I'm glad we did! We didn't hear any highway noise during our stay. Check in was quick and easy. We made some trips for a few incidentals to the nearby stores, which was helpful. The room and the rest of the hotel appeared very clean and well kept. The pool was a good size and the hot tub was nice. There were a lot of families there for the same reason we were, so it was nice to socialize. Pool towels is a bonus, so you don't have to ask for more towels in the room. May be something to consider if you're a family environment is not for you. Breakfast was very good, except the eggs tasted like they were made from a powdered mix or liquid, and the sausage was turkey sausage, which isn't my preference. But that's just my preferences. There was a nice variety and the breakfast area was very nicely kept. Parking was free and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuskegonHamptonInn, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out the Guest Service Survey in regards to your resent stay at the Muskegon Hampton Inn. Feedback from great guests such as your self helps us to improve and provide the excellent service that Hilton is known worldwide for.

The management and staff at the Hampton Inn were very happy to hear you had a great stay! Thank you again for your feed back. We look forward to providing that same great service in the future!


Hospitably Yours,


Tara Mack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very expensive for Hampton type hotel and breakfast lacking compared to others of same grade. Look for alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for informing me of your stay here at the Muskegon, Hampton Inn. I want to personally apologize for your unhappy experience at this hotel. We want all of our guests to have the best stay possible. I am sorry that thid was not your experience and the hotel did not live up to your expectations. You can be confident that I will follow-up on your concerns. Feedback from guests such as your self helps us to improve and provide the excellent service that Hilton is known worldwide for. I am sorry that this was your experience and I want to ensure that others are not disappointed in the same way.

I appreciate your making the effort to share your stay with us. We hope you will come back again.

Sincerely,

Muskegon Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, IL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I was very happy with this hotel. I got upgraded to a suie with a couch, fridge and microwave. This room was very big! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed then. Indoor pool. The water was cool but not too cool.
The breakfast was good. They had a nice variety and the area was very organized.

Room Tip: There are four floors, the elevators are centrally located.The pool is on first floor near elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is right beside the interstate, so a bit of road noise is expected. Never heard it in my room. Normal Hampton inn fair. Breakfast has a good selection. Beds were comfy. Room was clean. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room thru Priceline for the Hampton Inn Muskegon for a Saturday night in June. We received a confirmation that a room was available and my credit card was charged. When we arrived, the front desk said it had my reservation but that they had no room available - sorry. I asked if they could check again or help me in anyway and the two people at the front desk said no. I left and called Priceline who said they would check into it but that most likely the hotel was overbooked. I called and made a reservation at another hotel and checked in. About an hour later I got a call from Priceline saying that there was a cancellation at the Hampton Inn and I could now have a room. Since I had already booked into another hotel - I did not stay there. This was very inconvenient and I found the hotel staff extremely unhelpful. I have never been "bumped" from a hotel room before - beware of this practice at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent trip. I appreciate your flexibility as we experienced a nonstandard situation. I have contacted our front office department in regards to your comments and we are evaluating our policies and procedures. I do hope the next time you are in area you will consider staying at our hotel and experience our true Hamptonality.

Thank you,

Tara Mack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was in Muskegon for a wedding and I am glad the wedding party chose this hotel. The rooms were big with king sized beds, couches, fridges, microwaves and big bathrooms and the location is nice. The staff was very very nice aka Jennifer at night! She hooked us up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Muskegon

Address: 1401 East Ellis Road, Muskegon, MI 49441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Muskegon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the welcoming hospitality of Hampton Inn Muskegon, MI, hotel - offering a choice of thoughtful facilities and services. Set in Muskegon near rich forests and stunning beaches, this hotel is close to a variety of popular attractions, including PJ Hoffmaster State Park, The Lakes Mall and Michigan's Adventure Theme Park. Enjoy convenient access to US 31 and Muskegon County Airport, just two miles from the hotel.Enjoy a carefree vacation with a range of comforting amenities included with every stay. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re in a rush, grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Plunge into the heated, indoor pool and feel invigorated with a workout in the modern fitness center. Experience a peaceful night’s rest in a bright, airy guest room. Enjoy having a refrigerator and microwave in every room. Stay connected with free WiFi and make use of the professional business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Muskegon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.