We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Muskegon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Muskegon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Muskegon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 Third Street, Muskegon, MI 49440   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really dont know why this place received such low reviews. I was in town for a funeral and the hotel was very clean and the staff was attentive and friendly. Not one bad day here on my three night stay. I must add that the bartenders were WONDERFUL and very personable. Made me laugh even when I didnt want to. stayed 09/24-9/27

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    45
    36
    26
See reviews for
70
33
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It sure was a pleasure after a long day of traveling to experience the welcoming and helpful Samyrah at this hotel. When we checked out the next morning we were also greeted with a smile. She was friendly, informative and professional. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. Thank you Samyrah!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The desk agent was exceptional. She answered all of our questions and helped us book the next days hotel stay. She was professional and courteous. We enjoyed our visit to the area. Holiday Inn and Brittany made it extra enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Michigan's Adventure. The room and clean, a little dated, but overly worn out. When we got to our room we discovered there was no fridge. I called the front desk and we had a fridge/microwave combo within minutes. The mattresses were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, however, a little on the small side.

The restaurant was good, you can't beat free breakfast. You must join or belong to the Holiday Inn traveler program (free to join) in order to get the free breakfast coupons. Without the coupons, the breakfast buffet runs about $8 per person. Definitely worth it and our server was nicely compensated for her suggestion to join before ordering breakfast. A quick 2 minute trip to the lobby and we were back at our table, enjoying our meal. Breakfast includes a meat choice, waffles or pancakes, pastries, fruit, eggs, potatoes. The pool was nice, seemed a little small though. The kids enjoyed it. The whirlpool had to be closed for a few hours to be sanitized because the water test was "bad" per the maintenance man who asked us to get out. Parking is free in the attached parking garage. The hotel sits across the street from the harbor. Beautiful view of the sunset from rooms that look West. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunset from your room, ask for a room that faces West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Smidgen21,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad our rooms exceeded your expectations. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with the food selections that was served at the restaurant. We have taken note of your valuable feedback and will pass it on to the appropriate department. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First of all, I will say I'm very particular and detail orientated when it comes to restaurants and hotels. If I'm unhappy about an experience - you will know about it. We stayed here last weekend while we enjoyed our time at the Michigan Irish Music Festival. The staff was friendly, room was clean, quiet and I seriously have no complaints at all! I had read many bad reviews on here about the hotel so I was nervous about staying here - but this proved that not all are going to experience the same. I was happy overall with the stay and would stay there again. Thank you Holiday Inn for not letting us down! :-)

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end of the hallway which was away from everything. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I don't recall ever being disappointed with Holiday Inn until now. The area around the hotel was nice, they had convenient parking and the lobby area was nice but that' where it stopped. Starting with the room: the towel rack, blow dryer, drying line and smoke alarm were all falling off the walls. The bathtub had holes that were plugged with silicone and there were pieces of the wall paper that had been cut off the walls by the sink. This room was suppose to be handicapped accessible but the only thing handicapped about it was the toilet/tub part of the room was large enough to turn a wheelchair around and the tub had a fold down seat. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, not that I had seen it was included but I was ever hopeful. The pool was primarily square 5 ft. is the deepest area, it's obviously in need of replacement, the hot tub was the same and the water was cloudy. The work out room had 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical, and 1 bike. 1 treadmill and the bike did not work and one elliptical was in need of cleaning up. I guess I shouldn't complain about the breakfast buffet because it was free so I will just say it was minimal at best and everything was cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear jlburbank58,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

So apparently this hotel was remodeled a few years back, but it was shabbily done. The bathroom door did not completely close, there were stains and frays on the carpet, stains on the bed skirt, a stain on my comforter, and there was hair on the nightstand when we arrived! Not to mention the room had a musty smell and the ac was so noisy, that it inhibited sleep. The front desk staff was careless, cold, and lazy. Housekeeping did the very least possible as well. They did not refill the soaps, which prompted a call to housekeeping. 30 minutes later we received what we needed. Terribly managed and terribly remodeled. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear zullette01,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Address: 939 Third Street, Muskegon, MI 49440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Muskegon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.