We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Muskegon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Muskegon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 Third Street, Muskegon, MI 49440   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Muskegon
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“holiday inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

overall, not a bad stay! Just a few tips. We had a room towards back overlooking roof. Alot of noise on Thursday from a bar until 2am. Staff at the front desk were so helpful as to eats in area. Breakfast was better on the weekend than on weeknite. Got vouchers for a breakfast on Friday morning and was still charged over $12 dollars, when brought to her attention , was still charged $6. Not sure what was with that. Saturday was a buffet breakfast. Same vouchers but charged $0 and was better. Told buffet is only on Saturday and Sunday. Would probably stay again if area but ask for a room closer to front of hotel.

Room Tip: Stay towards front of hotel. Bar closer to back across street and lots of late nite noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    37
    33
    25
See reviews for
58
27
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Topinabee, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A condition of an orgainzation that I am involved with requires us to stay at this hotel. It is never a good experience. The toilets in some rooms do not work, the phones in others do not work. The hot water is a joke. There was a trip in June when we had to switch rooms 4 times, due to numerous issues. The restaurant is AWFUL, the service is poor at best. I will say that a couple of the front desk staff are nice to work with but the manager Gamal is not very good at his job.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family reserved a block of rooms for a weekend event. All of the reservations were screwed up including the main people who had set it up. One member was even asked to vacate his room as they had given it to someone else just then. Sorry, but if you sign that you are going to be there 2 days, you do NOT give the already paid for room to someone else. Reservations and desk staff clearly must live on another planet.

However, the rest of the staff at the hotel were helpful and made the rest of their stay better. The place was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed here previosly and had NO issues!!! Our recent stay has been horrible! No hot water... Took a cold shower shivers and all! Found a bed bug too! Waited 36 min for more wash cloths, for some reason in a room with 2 beds we get 4 of every other towel except wash cloths!! We will see what happens when we chk out!! Crappppp!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Nohotwater1020,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Muskegon for 3 days in October 2012. The staff is superbly friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel appears to be older but it looks like the management has made a focus of keeping things updated and fresh. The lobby was very inviting and comfortable with several over-stuffed chairs off of the entrance. The restaurant's breakfast selection was pretty decent with the staff refreshing the buffet items conscientiously. The hallways appear to have new carpeting in a nice vibrant color or they do an extremely effective job of keeping them clean. The hotel did not have the stale, musty smell of other hotels.

The room that I stayed in was a standard 2 queen bed room on the 7th floor. It had a nice view of Muskegon Lake. The HVAC worked well and quietly. The rooms were reasonably sound insulated (as in I couldn't hear any of the neighboring rooms). Beds were very comfortable and they gave you 4 pillows per bed with 2 firm and 2 soft. The TV was a modern LCD and had a good picture. The bathroom was not huge but definitely adequate with a coffee maker and hair dryer. The shower had awesome water pressure! Can't tell you how good it feels to be able to take a nice, strong hot shower after a long day! Towels were in great shape and the room was cleaned very well every day.

Room Tip: I'm a member of the Priority Club so I suspect that the 7th and 8th floor rooms are Priority Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very fair price for a downtown hotel. All of the staff (the front desk, the bar staff, restaurant staff) were all terrific and very helpful. Rooms were clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was terriic as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new caslte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed there a couple weeks ago and have vowed to only stay there whenever we visit Muskegon! The staff was beyond wonderful!!! Very clean rooms, beautiful view etc! Staying there helped make our lil getaway complete!!! A big SHOUTOUT to the amazing Front Desk Clerk Renee' as well as the night security gaurd! You two Rock!!!! Hope to see you soon! Your Indiana Friends- Deana & Fred H. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Address: 939 Third Street, Muskegon, MI 49440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Muskegon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.