We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and a waste of money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Muskegon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Muskegon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Muskegon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1675 E. Sherman Blvd., Muskegon, MI 49444   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Muskegon
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“dirty and a waste of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

I am really suprised at the good reviews for this hotel. My family stayed here for one night last week (Fairfield was booked). When we arrived we were taken aback by how run down the building looked from the outside. The security lock on the door was broken so anyone could just walk into the hotel when we told the manager this she said someone was out there fixing it; this simply was not true. It was still broken in the morning. The halls reeked of smoke even in the nonsmoking areas. The bedding was torn and seemed dirty. I would definately stay at the Fairfield next time since Marriotts are usually clean and have good breakfasts.
Another note, this hotel is not located near a beach. You have to drive a good 10 minutes to find one.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    23
    17
    23
See reviews for
52
18
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

I was very pleased with this hotel in comparison to where we were going to stay at he Best Western Park Place. This hotel is very nice I enjoyed the atrium it has adjoing to the indoor outdoor pool area. We stayed here 3 nights during our vacation to Michigan adventure. They had a small game room air hockey table and a pool table $$ gave the kids somthing else to do because my oldest son do not like to swim. My youngest son loved the pool the pool was heated and very nice if I do say so myself. The out door pool was cold but I guess it was refreshing because it was hot outside. Their was a few minor problems the outdoor pool was out of service when we first got there and the first night the air conditioner in our room did not work so they had to bring us a fan but they gave us the room for half prie that nice so we were able to stay an extra day so that was fair of them. Overall I would go back to this hotel next time we go to michigan adventure.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2005

Our family has stayed at this comfort in numerous times when visiting Michigan Adventure theme park. It has undergone recent renovations and is a delight to stay here. The rooms we stayed in overlooked the atrium pool area and were very nice and clean. The staff was most accomodating. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

Our first family vacation!! We took our kids 4 and 2 1/2 to Michigan Adventure Amusement Park and need a place to stay 2 nights. The Comfort Inn was perfect. It is about a 15 minute car ride to the park ( the park is in the middle of nowhere) and it was so easy to find. The hotel itself was very clean, and we checked in early with no problems. They have a pool which was always very cold, but the kids didn't seem to mind. There is a large variety of resturants in walking distance (Applebee's, Ruby Tuesday's, Subway etc..) and a Walmart right behind the hotel, in case you happen to forget something like we always seem to do.

Michigan Adventure was just as great!! It is so perfect for all ages. We really only enjoyed the water park, which is included in the ticket price, and our kids ( and us too) had a blast. It is very clean and organized and I would go back in a minute.

The Comfort Inn is perfect if you are thinking of visiting Michigan Adventure. We will be back next summer....

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2004

Usually this is the type of hotel we would stay in because we got tired of driving. We got a good price on it but for a vacation it wasn't very pleasant or safe feeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Muskegon

Address: 1675 E. Sherman Blvd., Muskegon, MI 49444
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Muskegon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Muskegon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.