We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobo's Tavern

Hobo's Tavern
1411 Whitehall Rd, Muskegon, MI 49445-1346
231-719-0247
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 190 Restaurants in Muskegon
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
North Muskegon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bar Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hobo's has a very vibrant environment. The Bar Steak (tenderloin) is an exceptional value. The bartenders make awesome martinis and the wait staff is excellent! Great appetizers too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Muskegon, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get the Steak at the Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is a special that is served at the bar only. Steak and one side. The steak is awesome. Large screen TV's for sports viewing while you eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bring back the old Hobos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This is used to be a "go to" place for us in Muskegon but our last experience really brought us down.

The ribs I had were very dry and the salmon my wife had was also dry and did not taste very good.

The waitresses seemed more interested in getting their next shot from the bartender rather then checking on their customers.

I really do hope they get,it together again so that we can enjoy the old Hobos we once knew

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good all around experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We started our meal with the beach bread which was French bread topped w/ blue cheese and mozzarella. It was very good. For dinner we both had The Hobo ribs they were smokey and sweet. The pasta is also unbelievable. We will be back again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Huge selection on the menu. Great prices and good food. On a Friday night they were able to seat a party of 8 with only a 30 minute wait (next time I'll know to use the call ahead seating). It was very crowded and noisy (tables uncomfortably close to each other and hard to have a conversation). Excellent "martinis". We ordered 3 apps: the beach bread (delicious and cheesy), the pretzels (tasty) and the tavern chips (everyones favorite). The hobo ground round was good (carrots undercooked), the cooper's special was a great deal and brats like you'd cook on the grill yourself, the hobo's pie was great (no leftovers), the ribs were very meaty and the sauce is sweet with a bit of a different spice to give it an original taste. The well done steak was dry (but he did order it well done and it was cooked to order). The service was a good as could be expected for a busy night (she was attentive but drinks went dry and the food did not come out at the same time for our party of 8). I'd recommend the restaurant but wouldn't go back unless it was an off time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Tavern also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hobo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobo's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.