We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less crowded beach, great nature trails and Nature Center in the sand dunes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffmaster State Park

Hoffmaster State Park
6585 Lake Harbor Road, Muskegon, MI 49441
231 798-3711
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Attractions in Muskegon
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Muskegon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Less crowded beach, great nature trails and Nature Center in the sand dunes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Longer walk to the beach from parking through woodsy path, stairs down the dune edge to the wide beach. Much less crowded than the more well known beaches in Grand Haven, Holland etc but probably more beautiful and spacious. Nature walks through woods dunes and quiet hollows are worth a separate trip all by themselves at most any time of year. If you have your park sticker from Michigan license renewal, entrance is free, otherwise you out-of-staters or non-park supporters should be happy to pay a day or week fee to enjoy this park. Nearby State campgrounds are regularly full. Plan ahead.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    49
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lapa, PR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oak Wilt has devastated Camp Ground”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Oak Wilt disease has killed the trees in the camp ground. Haven't been there, but the pictures look real bad.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“great place to go for a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This park is huge and wonderful place to get forests and beach. Located right on Lake Michigan you can go to the beach but they also have wonderful trails through the woods. Bathrooms are available.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love this State Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Everything from the entrance to the long winding trails make this a park with great adventure! Hiking is my favorite thing to do here and there are lots if different trails to go on. The beach is beautiful and goes on and on for miles. It is by far one if the nicest, cleanest parks in West Michigan!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great camping right next to beautiful Lake Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This was an amazing 3 day weekend getaway! We stayed at PJ HOFFMASTER'S STATE CAMPGROUND. We reserved online, using the Michigan DNR website. It was a great place to get all the details, campground maps, site pis etc.. Our choice was 2sites near the main beach access trail. It wormed out great, with just a short walk down a shady sandy path to one of nature's wonders. From arrival, we were greeted with smiles and knowledge by the DNR reps. The facilities were spotless from the groomed trails to the restrooms and showers. Our 30ft camper was a breeze to set up, as the site was spot on to the last detail we noted wile making our reservation online. Shady trees, level, and plenty of room to fit our group of 6 and 2 large dogs. There is a huge activity field that was perfect for disc golf! A bubbling creek runs through the campground that our dogs loved to explore. The camp hosts were friendly and knowledgeable with tons of local information, and daily weather posted on the board. A great place for good conversation, hot coffee and the camp news to start the day. Beautiful Lk Michigan, family, sunsets, sand dunes, hiking, great times... You get em all at PJ HOFFMASTERS ST CAMPGROUND.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffmaster State Park also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hoffmaster State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffmaster State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.