We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place, but not spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Tavern

Hank's Tavern
2536 Henry, Muskegon, MI 49441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 192 Restaurants in Muskegon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“OK place, but not spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We tried Hank's Tavern last week on a Tuesday. They have some interesting appetizers, and have free appetizers between 5:00 and 6:00 PM. We had a very good wait person who made sure we knew there were free meatballs to try, and kept our drinks well filled. For an appetizer we tried "Grandma's Popcorn" which was fair. I ordered a pick 2 of homemade Tomato Basil Soup and the signature "Grown-up Grilled Cheese". They were served promptly. The soup was very good. The sandwich was fine, not much can be done to a grilled cheese. My husband ordered a 50/50 burger, claiming to be half ground beef and half ground bacon. It was more of a basic burger, not strong feeling of 50% bacon, which he felt was only average. Give the place a try, but don't expect too much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome place to hang with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went on vacation and found this place by accident. We decided to try it out it had so many beers on tap which was awesome. We ordered nachos, which were delicious, to go with our beer and the place was decorated so cute. Loved this place! If we come back to Michigan will definitely be visiting Hank's again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe an off night... or an off concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm a big fan of Hoby Thrasher's restaurants, and have been for years. From the Sardine Room to Handsome Henry's and Hobos, Hoby knows how to pull a restaurant together. The theme of Hanks is fun fare - fresh Mex, meatballs, burgers and wings. We tried the Mexican, and weren't impressed. I'm not judging the food on authenticity, just basic taste. The bean hummus was bland, the enchiladas were thin and weak, with fatty pulled beef inside. Honestly, I can do better at home - and I'm not saying I'm a great cook. We will try it again, and try other fare. Perhaps the burgers or meatballs will be true to what we expect of a Hoby Thrasher restaurant. PS the decorating is awesome... nice vibe/layout inside. Perhaps Hoby just doesn't know decent Mexican food?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Impressive drink menu, but I couldn't order anything at the time. I had the taco salad and it was just iceberg and very disappointing. However, the chicken on it was good and flavorful, like it was marinated in seasonings all day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Balls and Brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to a dinner special at Banks with pairing of Founder's beers and delicious food. It was a great experience. I will be at the next one!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Tavern also viewed

 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hank's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.