We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handsome Henry's

Handsome Henry's
3065 Henry St, Muskegon, MI 49441-4015
(231) 747-8583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 190 Restaurants in Muskegon
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we have a craving for the best pizza this is where we go. Chicago style deep dish is the best of the west side.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We recently visited this establishment for the first time at a friend's recommendation. A great experience prompted us to go again the following week. We are not from the area but were in Muskegon enroute to Blue Lake. There are a number of reasons I'm giving them five stars. First and foremost is the food. Everything we tried was very, very good, and we're pretty tough critics. We had the wings, bruschetta, salads, a burrito, prime rib, and the French dip sandwich. The French dip was the best I've ever had. I'm generally leary of ordering it at a restaurant for fear of getting slices of roast beef that are too thick or too tough, or just plain lacking in flavor. Theirs is made with their prime rib and it just about melted in my mouth and was bursting with flavor. We are headed back there today, planning our timing for yet another Blue Lake (Fine Arts Camp) trip so we can make it there for lunch.

Next on the the A-list was the service. Too often these days I've received sub-par service, but not here. Both times our waitress was friendly, efficient, and on top of things without being intrusive. I tipped over 20% because I felt the service was perfect.

Finally, I liked the decor. Brightly colored tiles make the place look festive. There is a mix of tables and booths so they can easily accommodate groups. There is a large faucet hanging from the ceiling that appears to be running despite the fact that it's not connected to anything. It's sure to amuse the young and the young at heart.

Their prices are very reasonable. The prime rib was $15.99. I don't recall the price of anything else off-hand but their full menu is available on-line. The menu is large and varied but they don't seem to suffer from having so many items. The wine list is decent, I didn't check out what beer they carry.

The worst thing about Handsome Henry's? Trying to decide what to order - so many good choices but only so much room in our tummies!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A varied menu with creativity. Food was good service was excellent

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great noon pizza buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have eaten here before but yesterday we went for their Pizza Buffet. Several kinds of thin crust and deep dish pizza, 3 salads, firtatta, cheesy garlic bread, a pasta dish and bruschetta all for $7.99. There is suppose to be complimentary wine but we were not offered any and I really didn't mind that I didn't have it. I am sure if we had asked, they would have brought it. The pizza was excellent as was the garlic bread and bruschetta. I also enjoyed the fritatta. I wasn't real thrilled with the pasta. It is all self serve so we didn't have to wait on a server but she was prompt in bringing us our drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I went to Handsome Henry's expecting the same quality food they have at Hobo's in North Muskegon since I believe they have the same owner. I was a little disappointed. The food was good but not to the level I expected. We tried the pizza first time, which they say they specialize in and was not impressed. We've been back about three of four times to keep giving them a try because it is located close to us. It is good food don't let me steer you wrong just not what I want in non fast food restaurant. I am a little picky though. So go try the food and post your take on Handsome Henry's .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handsome Henry's also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Handsome Henry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handsome Henry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.