We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect walking trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Bike Trail

Lakeshore Bike Trail
Muskegon, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 39 things to do in Muskegon
Attraction details
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect walking trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been walking this path almost every day. I usually go half way starting in North Muskegon then head back. Its a nice scenic path and way prettier than walking along the highway. I'll keep walking until ice prevents me from doing so.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just the right length”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved the scenic ride along the lake. There were large swings for adults to stop and enjoy. There was another perch for several people to sit and watch a sunset. The lake was filled with sailboats and the large marinas we rode past were busy. We also rode through a large park. Great afternoon ride with lots to see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great way to see the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I rented bikes at the Muskegon Visitors Center and hopped on the bike trail right across the street from the center. It was drizzling when we started but I am glad we persevered because it was a very fun morning! I hadn't been on a bike in about 20 years so the gloomy weather gave me a bit of time to acclimate not in the view of others, but even once the sun came out we mostly had the path to ourselves. The path has some lovely areas and views. From where we started we went probably 2 1/2 to 3 miles lakeside until we had to go up to Lakeshore Dr.-because of my inexperience we turned around and headed back the way we came and went an additional 2 or 3 miles to the nature preserve. Lots of fun! My only complaint was that the Visitors Center didn't really have a very good, clear map of the bike trail. And as travelers we could have used one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bike or Walk... This is a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have started biking with our kids, ages 7 & 2. We biked down to Grand Trunk landing at the corner of Lakeshore dr & McCraken! We were absolutely amazed at the beautiful sights from the beginning! There is so much to see along the trail. We stopped to swing on the benches. We rode down to Heritage landing before heading back. We stopped at Fricano's to eat one of their yummy pizzas outside on the picnic table. Then a sweet treat of ice cream from Pinchtown market. Then heading back we saw a mama deer and her 3 little babies! Such an amazing sight! Lots of other families biking, couples walking, & people walking their dogs. Lots of gardens. Natural beauty! My daughter must of thanked me 20x for bringing her. If your visiting, bring your bikes! The trail goes all the way to North Muskegon. Plenty of fabulous places to stop along the way. Max & Marleys Restaurant would've been our normal stop but they were closed. Best Hot dogs around. Lakeside Emporium brings you back to your childhood with fun candies and treats! The sunset was amazing. I can't believe I have lived here so long without checking it out.
Perfect for families
Biking
Walking
Jogging
Dog walking
Fishing
Perfect date night
Just perfect

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nicely paved 8 mile trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We parked in the lot across from Rite-Aid and were able to hop on the bike path right by our car. It's a nice easy ride on a newly paved trail. The 8 miles is a bit short but the benches along the way provide a nice view of the lake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeshore Bike Trail also viewed

 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Lakeshore Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeshore Bike Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.