We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Vacation Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muskegon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort
Save
You added Snug Harbor Resort to your Saves list
3492 Memorial Dr, Muskegon, MI 49445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Muskegon B&B and Inns
Dearborn Heights
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellant Vacation Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Snug Harbor recently and were so impressed...and this was from the minute we pulled in. The resort is definitely family friendly. Our kids enjoyed the hammock out front the most I think! Scoops ice cream shop was open so we took advantage of multiple ice cream stops! What a perfect business for the area - I can only see it growing. Kim and Willie are very friendly, accommodating and just plain all around nice people. There boys are friendly too! We picked blueberries, walked to Lake Michigan, hiked a trail very near to resort (and yes got lost!), enjoyed camp fires. We are definitely returning here next year. Not too many places you can go to with a large family and have everyone pleased. Clean cottages, large property so you aren't cramped and in a perfect location. This place is a gem in the rough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. Owners made us feel like extended family, super accommodating. We stayed with 3 additional families there and had tons of room to spread out. Enjoyed a campfire every evening and rode our bikes to the beach during the day. While the adults were chatting or playing cards, the kids were riding bikes on the property or playing ball. SOOO much better than a hotel! And so much to see and do within in just minutes of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hospitality and kindness during our stay was above and beyond our expectation. This a nice setting where you can relax by a fire at the end of the day, visit with family or meet new people from all over the country.

The owners (Kim and Willie) bought the vacation resort 1 1/2 years ago. You can see that they are doing lots of work on remodel with some to go. The rooms are nice and clean and most have a efficiency kitchen where you can cook meals or just brew coffee, whatever you like. Kim and Willie helped us with whatever requests we had and I know there were plenty with our large group. They have a wonderful family that is polite, helpful and hard working. Very impressed!!!

My sister had a birthday the day we arrived and they helped us with a cake so we could celebrate. This was a nice touch. They know the area and are good about pointing you in the right direction.

The area is close to the beach, boat launch, good restaurants, parks, hiking paths and charters. There is a small store across the property for ice, cook out needs and fishing supplies. Willie is working on opening a soft serve ice cream shop on the property, so hopefully that goes well.

Our family spent a day at Duck Lake and swam and relaxed. They really enjoyed it.

It was nice to be at Snug Harbor in the evening with a fire and the ability to
cook out, relax and just talk.

They are doing a great job with the remodel and know how to keep people happy. Look them up if you are in the area.

Room Tip: They have several choices. Let Kim know what you need and she will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Scott, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The owners are so kind and friendly! Kim went above and beyond to help us schedule our stay with the date of our family reunion. Very clean with everything we needed for our stay, reunion was right across the road and we were within walking distance of beautiful Lake Michigan! The kids enjoyed picking blueberries behind the resort and we all enjoyed using the BBQ grill out front. Looking forward to going back and planning on this becoming a part of our annual tradition!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is now SNUG HARBOR RESORT & VACATION RENTALS! You're doing the new owners a huge disservice by not correcting the name. I almost missed this little gem because of the reviews for the previous owners, luckily we drove past it and it looked newly remodeled. Any reviews before 2011 are for the old place. This is a perfect place to stay with family and friends to enjoy Lake Michigan and surrounding area. I had several family members stay here and they all were impressed. (Even my luxury loving sister-in-law.) It's a bit rustic but very comfortable and clean. The rooms have a kitchenette, there's a big yard with fire pits, volleyball and soccer nets & lawn chairs. There are beaches, boat ramps, parks and hiking trails near by. Kim, the owner, could not be nicer or more helpful. Check out their web site: mysnugharbor.com.

Room Tip: Tell Kim what you need and she'll do her best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you! I'm so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us. We do everything possible to make our guests stay with us as comfortable and relaxing as they would like it to be. Thanks for the nice review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snug Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort

Address: 3492 Memorial Dr, Muskegon, MI 49445
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will fall in love with the beauty and the many things to do during your stay at Snug Harbor Resort. We are located across the street from the Snug Harbor boat launch, in the Muskegon State Park, where you can launch your boat, fish from the dock, ice fish, hike on the beautiful hiking trails, or picnic. We are just one mile from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan, and the North Muskegon State Park, with the channel and boardwalk connecting Muskegon Lake to Lake Michigan. The Winter Sports Complex is just two miles away, with Olympic Luge, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, ice skating and hockey rink, and a fabulous ice skating trail through the woods. Michigan's Adventure Amusement and Water Park is less than 10 miles away. We have a Bait & Tackle Shop right here at the resort, along with fresh blueberries, in season. Snug Harbor Resort is pet friendly, and the perfect place for the whole family. Plan your next vacation or family reunion at Snug Harbor Resort! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.