We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible journey back to the future” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS LST 393

USS LST 393
560 Mart Street, Muskegon, MI 49440
(231) 730-1477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Muskegon
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Incredible journey back to the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Such an awesome ship! You can feel the presence of soldiers as you witness history. Take the tour. You will not be sorry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“USS LST 393”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a must see. I loved touring this ship and climbing all over its decks. My teenage son was not bored while on this ship. That is saying a lot for him to not be bored. He found it very interesting.

So many interesting things to see on this ship. If you have clausterphobia you might want to avoid the engine rooms. They are small and very hot. The kitchen, soldiers quarters, bathrooms, captains room, wheelhouse are interesting.

Our military men definitely need our support. The quarters they live in are tiny. They have no privacy. We take so much for granted. This really made me appreciate the comforts of home a whole lot more.

My family really enjoyed this part of our vacation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic warship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

visited the LST after Independence Day. Remarkable boat, very interesting history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Unity, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A unique piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This site is for those interested in military history. Very interesting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Military History Alive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you enjoy exploring on your own, climbing narrow and steep stairwells, the smell of old metal and diesel fuel, and touching history; this adventure is for you. When our military once worked, slept, prepared and prayed for their lives on board this massive ship, they may have never imagined that some day it would be resting in the waters of Lake Michigan with families crawling over it and exploring its many rooms. I suspect they would have been pleased. Check out the engine room and just imagine the heat and noise. Venture to the pilot house and look at all the equipment and guages. Almost nothing is off limits here. Although children will love exploring, my 11 year old daughter thought it was cool but some below deck spaces were a bit claustrophobic for her. My teen son loved it, it was his third time and my father in law enjoyed the numerous military hardware displays as well as the massive engines, gears and cable. It was fun trying to figure out how things worked. If you like this site, also make sure to check out USS Silversides submarine nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LST 393 also viewed

 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to USS LST 393? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS LST 393, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.