We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local pizza experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fricano's Muskegon Lake

Fricano's Muskegon Lake
1050 W Western Ave, Muskegon, MI 49441-1694
231-722-7775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 190 Restaurants in Muskegon
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Kankakee, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Local pizza experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

When you are coming from the Chicago area, you know your pizza, capiche? Fricano's is a unique pizza experience, for sure. The most limited menu ever found in a sit down restaurant. Just one food choice: 12 inch thin crust red sauce pizza. No salad, no breadsticks, no desserts. Choice of 5 toppings. And. . . really delicious. It's true that the single pizza is about enough for one hungry adult, since there is hardly any crust under the greasy (in a good way) cheese to fill you up.

For some reason they close off sections of the restaurant on slow nights, which means that several of the lake view tables are unavailable and unoccupied - and right next to the open section of the restaurant. This is pretty stupid as everyone wants to sit at a lake view table and that would be one of the advantages of visiting on a slow night. Instead we saw several parties get ticked off that they had to sit at the dark back tables while looking across the rope at the nice empty lake view tables. Not good for tips or for happy customers, or for restaurant reviewers who drop a 5 star rating to 4 over silliness like that.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Is it an acquired taste?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not everyone I've taken there with me has loved the pizzas, but I love them and my kids do, too. No menus. No other food items. Just pizza and a choice of several toppings. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great pizza with quick friendly service. Even though it was graduation night they were able to accommodate our party of 15 within a short wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grand, AZ
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“All Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

If you love pizza, this is a must. Very thin, crispy crust. Choice of five toppings. Only one size, which is a full meal for one. But for pizza purists, this is heaven by the lake. Our daughter was one of the original cast members when Ted Fricano first opened this expansion of the family business, and we became believers. We live in Arizona now, but have a Fricano's Fix every time we get back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy, but a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is The place to eat The pizza and see The people of Muskegon, one and all. I lost my phone in the parking lot, and someone thoughtfully called my son to report it. Gotta love Michigan!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fricano's Muskegon Lake also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Fricano's Muskegon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fricano's Muskegon Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.