We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground cleanup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muskegon State Park

Muskegon State Park
3560 Memorial Drive, Muskegon, MI 49445
231-744-3480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This State Park offers a variety of winter recreation including ice skating, cross-country skiing and luge.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Campground cleanup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

In the beginning of May they had a campground cleanup at the Lake Michigan campground. For anyone that camped for two nights and cleared the leaves off of two sites got one night of camping refunded to them. What a great idea for all involved. For us it was the opportunity to checkout a state park that we have never been too, our way of giving back to our state parks and the kids could use their community service hours for their National Honor Society commitment. The park rangers did a great job organizing and running the event. Everyone was helpful and friendly. It was great to see both couples and families of all ages working together to make our parks beautiful. To say that everything ran smoothly was an understatement and by that afternoon we had our receipt of refund. I believe that Muskegon State Park had a great idea and I would love to see other campgrounds start that for next year.
As for the park itself, the beach was beautiful and I loved the lookout deck toward Lake Michigan. Perfect for sunsets. Be sure to check out the ice cream store just off of the park grounds. We were fans of their malts and sundaes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    29
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A favorite destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have stayed at the Lake Michigan campground several times as a family, and later with just the two of us. We have mostly camped in our tent, but stayed in one of the mini-cabins once. It remains one of our favorite State Park campgrounds, and we have been to many. We love being so close to the lake, yet enjoy the protection of the trees if the weather turns blustery. The large, multi-level deck and stairs leading to the beach is tailor made for taking in the sunsets, or enjoying the view of the lake at any time of day if you don't feel like climbing all the way down to the beach. The brand new bath house is a plus! Oh, and having Ruth Ann's Ice Cream on the North border of the campground is a convenient treat (my personal favorite is the turtle sundae). This may not be the deep-woods experience that some campers are looking for, but overall it's a nice, usually quiet, conveniently located spot.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just soaking in the Winter Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This park would be great during the spring, summer and fall, winter is exclusive for hiking or x-country skiing! It was so beautiful and serene...like time was frozen and so relaxing just to park and listen to the quiet of the forest.
I have been here before camping, and it was wonderful, highly recommend for the three seasons, not much to do when snow is on the ground!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luge less spectacular than expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

While it was fun, it could definitely be better for $45 a person. You are given about 2.5 hours with a group which equates to about 4 runs if it is fully booked. Each run lasts about 20 seconds. The majority of your time is spent waiting to get a sled that is your size or waiting at the top to go down. Sleds are carried by the luger. Would I do it again? Probably if the entire group was friends/family so you could possibly get more runs in. There is a fun looking ice trail that we should have tried that goes through the woods and under canopies.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views of Lake Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great access to the lake. Awesome views of frozen tundra in Late February. Beautiful to visit year-round.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muskegon State Park also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Muskegon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muskegon State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.