We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness, Consideration and Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Terrace Point Boulevard, Muskegon, MI 49440   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kindness, Consideration and Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My recent stay at the Shoreline Inn was a wonderful surpise at every turn. This beautiful, elegant hotel offers tremendous service by every staff you meet. Though the rooms may not haeve massive square footage, they are well appointed and beautiully laid out with gorgeous views. The hotel has amazing antiques everywhere that invite you back to a classy and sophisticated era. Rooms service from the adjacent restaurant was great and very, very affordable. The complimentary continental breakfast was fresh and again, a very welcoming staff in the morning to start your day. I will definitely stay here time and again as my journey's bring me back to the area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a bay/lake side view. Breathtaking sunsets! Also be sure to go over the the shore of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    92
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
117
103
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our second visit to the Shoreline Inn one year later. We booked a King Suite which is a corner room overlooking Lake Muskegon with a walkout balcony on the lakeside and a sliding door on the other. We loved the views from the room. We didn't use the fireplace or the jacuzzi because the weather was quite warm. We did use the balcony and the full size refridgerator freezer to refreeze our ice bottles and cool our beverages. Since the last time, it seems they improved the quality of the linens especially in the bathroom and took care of some details to make things a little nicer. This is not a contemporary decor hotel, but definitely has the amenities. Another reviewer wrote that the rooms were a bit "mismatched." That might be the case, but it is definitely a boutique hotel with a ton of personality. This trip was again a "couples" trip. Minor negative: Eat breakfast out. We read the reviews prior to this trip. We were disappointed that the breakfast did not seem to improve since our last visit so we skipped it for a fast food chain. The microwavable breakfast burrito is apparently still the hotel's version of a hot breakfast option. It was the only one a year ago. Not sure about this time.

Room Tip: If you prefer to retire early for the night, request a room away from the Lake House Grill. We love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We were happy with this hotel. For an 8 floor hotel I felt Luke I cOuld get around. Quite easily and access all thr terrific amenities that this place offered. The outdoor Marina area was very comfortable with new age cabana sofas and a temperature controlled outdoor pool. The indoor pool was nice too, offering 2 spa hot tubs and shower to rinse off.
The breakfast was like most others but they have plenty of staff to keep the food and coffee replenished.
The rooms were very clean and offered neat chairs and sofas along with clean linens nice upgraded comfortable carpet. The beds were clean but not comfortable. We had some back aches from the mattress that was too soft for our liking. The #9 room should be avoided because it runs along side the elevator and we could hear it going up and down all night. The temperature controls were like a home thermostat which was nice after staying in a hotel with a window blowing machine,
All and all it was very good value for a fancy style hotel.
We didn't try the lakeside resturant because it was too expense for us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We came and stayed for a one night stop on the way to bellair from Chicago. The area where the hotel is lovely as you have got the boats and the restaurant/bar nest to it with the outdoor pool and comfortable outdoor seating. There are also bbqs so if the mood takes you, you can light one up.

When you first enter the hotel lobby, its very cool, light and spacious. The room to the right when you first walk in has got sofas, games, computers and drinks like coffee, tea and water. To the end of the corridor, there is the room to the right where you have your Continental breakfast of things like muffins, toast, cereal, juices and to you left, you can see the indoor pool and hot tub. Downstairs there are also some games. To access the indoor pool area, there is code to access it which is on the back of your door key if I remember correctly.

I found the room to be a little bit odd. When I entered, there was a small table with 2 chairs, a big cabinet which later turned up to be where the tv was, a little kitchenette area with a massive fridge freezer, not sure why you need to have a big one, a little one would have been enough. There is a little area to hang clothes up and lots of drawer space. In our room we did only have one big side table next to the bed, I think 2 smaller ones would be better.

In the evening we went to the little bar next to it and I would recomend that you make a visit to it as the atmosphere there is lovely and you can sit outside and just relax and the staff are really helpful with things to do and where to go

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Shoreline Inn. The hotel was full and we had booked a discount rate, so we presumably did not have the most luxurious room at the hotel. The room was furnished with a queen size bed, with a reasonably firm mattress and nice linens. Otherwise, the furnishings were a bit odd -- e.g., there was a night table on only one side of the bed, which was inconvenient as there were 2 of us sharing the room. That one "night table" was actually wide enough to hold a small roller bag, without removing the lamp, radio, or phone (and placing the bag there was necessary as there was no luggage rack in the room). The room could easily have accomodated 2 nightstands of smaller dimensions. There was a closet that was very small, immediately on the other side of the 1 nightstand, which was very hard to access because of the lack of clearance between the folding door of the closet and of the night stand. The room also had a full height refrigerator, as well as a small, round kitchen table. Since the only cooking facilities were a small microwave, it is hard to envision a scenario in which a guest would actually need a refrigerator of that size. There were no easy chairs or desks.

The bathroom was quite clean, equipped with a shower only. The water pressure and temperature were fine, but the shower head was mounted rather low on the wall. The towels were smallish and not particularly thick.

The hotel evidently serves a continental breakfast each morning, but we only found out about it upon reading the guest services notebook. Surprisingly, no one mentioned it when we checked in and it was not mentioned in the written confirmation that we received of the reservation. We did not try it, so cannot comment.

Given the rather limited choices of hotels in Muskegon, we would stay here again. The room, itself was disappointing, however, given the marketing of the hotel and the overall ambience of the common areas. The best part of the hotel is its setting on the marina, especially if you get a room with a view and a balcony -- neither of which was true of our room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

When business or family calls us to the Muskegon area, we always stay here. We like room 606--a large room with kitchenette, fireplace, big jacuzzi tub, and a balcony overlooking the marina. We've also stayed on the 10th floor in a larger suite which is very nice. The personnel are super, plus they know us by now. There's a continental breakfast each morning (included). Try the cinnamon bread, toasted. The restaurant next door is worth at least one visit, and the bar tenders are fun.

Room Tip: There's an indoor pool and two whirlpools, but if you get a larger room, many have a jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice place to stay. Great views of the lake. Rooms are on the small side but well appointed. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 750 Terrace Point Boulevard, Muskegon, MI 49440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shoreline Inn, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service, modern vintage themed, waterfront resort located on Muskegon Lake in Muskegon Michigan. Built new in 2002 and updated in 2013, the hotel features oversized rooms, floor to ceiling window walls, 1st class amenities, business level accommodations on our "Club" floor and spectacular views of Muskegon and Muskegon Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Inn At Terrace Point Hotel Muskegon
Shoreline Hotel Muskegon
Shoreline Hotel At Terrace Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.