We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Michelin star standard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Winstub du Chambard

La Winstub du Chambard
9-13, rue du General de Gaulle, 68240 Kaysersberg, France (Formerly le chambard)
03 89 47 10 17
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Winstub du Chambard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Kaysersberg
Price range: $33 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated at the very heart of the village, facing the vineyard, le Chambard gives you access to an exceptional place where chef Olivier Nasti combines his creative talent with the celebration of the Alsation tradition, forming a unique gastronomic composition.
Norwich England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is not Michelin star standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This review is concerning the fine dining restaurant in the hotel, not the Winstub. We were recommended to dine here for a special occasion on the 24th August.We were a party of four and had high expectations and were sadly very disappointed in what appeared to be a meal of two halves. The amuse bouche and the bread were good, and the bread kept coming which was just as well as the courses were the smallest we have had anywhere. The fish course was minute; one tiny portion of fish; the courgette course half a small courgette, topped with a little goats cheese and 'some special white Italian ham', with watercress sauce poured all over it, but the worse was to come. We all had the rabbit, but he must have been in his burrow as we think it was only the courgette flower that contained a little minced rabbit, as there was no other evidence [or taste]. This was accompanied by a small disc of lobster, and in my case swamped with lobster sauce.The dinner was 84 euros, without the wine [expensive] or the water, 10 euros a bottle, and we failed to see how the hotel could justify the prices for the quality. I can only assume it was the chef’s night off.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    75
    49
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Winstub Can Do With Some Graciousness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Visiting Alsace from Australia for the first time, it was recommended that we dine at a "Winstub", which refers to a bistro that serves traditional Alsatian meals at more reasonable prices than a fine dining restaurant. Wanting a quintessentially Alsatian experience, Winstub Le Chambard, part of the 4-star Le Chambard hotel in Kaysersberg, was recommended to us.

While Winstub Le Chambard's interior looked warm and inviting, the helpfulness of the staff bordered on the icy. Although my husband and I have a basic knowledge of French, we had no idea what the dishes on the menu were and were offered no help at all despite our obvious difficulty. While this would be understandable in a small rural restaurant, we found this rather poor coming from a 4 star hotel and spa like Le Chambard, who had English speakers on duty in the front desk that night.

We struggled with our meal decision for a long time. The poor waitress had no knowledge of English and the restaurant manager on duty, who we found out later was notoriously unhelpful with non-French speakers, did nothing to assist. We ended up grossly over-ordering. We realized our mistake, to our horror, when the starters, and then the main meal arrived, in gargantuan quantities. While the food was very good, the exorbitant price that we had to pay for a meal that we had only half eaten left us feeling cheated.

Sorry guys, but when you claim to have 4-star standards, you’d better have the service and hospitality to back it up. We did far better the following night in another low key local restaurant in Kaysersberg for far less money but double the hospitality.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We took a party of 15 here, Kayersberg being the base for our wine tasting tour. We took the precaution of making arrangements with the restuarant, arranging menus etc. We had high hopes given the restaurant's reputation. We were extremely surprised to be asked for a 200 Euro deposit - this is our 3rd tasting trip , having previously taken groups to the Loire and the Mosel where we have eaten in equally good resaturants- we have never experienced such a request.

The food was good, albeit the serving time was far longer than we experienced in both the other Kayserberg restaurants in which we ate. The waiting staff were young, inexperienced, badly supervised and lacked initiative - not the ideal combination for dealing with a larger group.

One could be forgiven for thinking they concentrate on the Michelin starred restaurant at the expence of the Winestrub. We shall not return here

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Overcooked food in the winstub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had dinner in the winstub. As this restaurant is connected to a michelin starred restaurant we had high expectations.but we were very disappointed: The easter decoration was very sad. The service was just acceptable: an appetizer was put on our table when we were still taking of our coats., we had to put our coats on the back of our chairs (if there was a place to put the coats I did not see it and the waitress offered no assistance) I had a fish dish that was described on the menu as coming with vegetables and rice. There was a little bit of overcooked vegetables hidden under the fish, the fish was Ok. The rice was even more overcooked than the vegetables. We were so disappointed that we did not try a dessert

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eupen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked restaurant and hotel for a stop-over on our way to Switzerland. Given some of the mixed opinions we had read re service I must admit that I was hoping these were exagerated and indeed found this to be the case

Restaurant: strong one-star level, definitely worth coming back.

Hotel: we had a very nice suite with a mezzanine bedroom for our 3 children. The owner's daugther kindly baby-sitted our kids. Room was modern and really perfect for purpose. Very nice buffet breakfast.

One word on service: pleasant and charming at all levels. We will come back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Winstub du Chambard also viewed

Kaysersberg, Haut-Rhin
Kaysersberg, Haut-Rhin
 
Kaysersberg, Haut-Rhin
Kaysersberg, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to La Winstub du Chambard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Winstub du Chambard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.