We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra... Extra... Extra...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of hotel Bisevo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
hotel Bisevo
Save
You added hotel Bisevo to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribarska 72 | Komiža, Vis, Island of Vis 21485 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vis
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Extra... Extra... Extra...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in June with my wife and baby. the hotel is generally clean but breakfast is terrible. It is a hotel for elders. As i could not find any other place i had to book here. The recepcionist lady changed the price 2 times at booking. Finally we arrived our room. And we did not have any problem for 3 nights. Last night, i asked the lady if we could check out late as our catamaran time was in the following day afternoon. She told me to come back in the morning and ask. I did it. They said there is no problem and i could make a late check-out. But in the afternoon when we checked-out there was another recepcionist woman who made the check-in and changed the price twice. She charged me more for the extra hour. I told her noone told me about this extra and i did not want to pay it. she made a couple of phone calls and then she deducted this extra price. Dont book this hotel if you dont have to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medjugorje
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The best thing of this hotel is silence when you open the window, the beach is so near, the food is ok, you pay a low price... If you are really tired and all you need is a rest you will be happy in this hotel. If you want to look at the door, floor, walls you will not be happy by this choice. We were there in June 2011 and we always had a clean room and bathroom. We want to be back to this place. Komiža is one of the most beautiful small island places you can be at in Croatia. Wish you a good rest there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Getting a private apartment is usually the best option in Croatia, but as we decided to go to Komiza in high season and were only staying one night, we made a reservation at the Bisevo to avoid having to waste time on searching for accomodation.

The hotel was actually a nice surprise - it is vintage 80's style, but clean and simple and really nothing to complain about. For about 50 kunas extra we got a bright room with a balcony overlooking the sea (the hotel is located just by a beach). This was in a part of the hotel that seemed to have been renovated, so it might be worth asking for that when making a reservation.

The breakfast room feels like something from an 80's package tour, but have some youghurt and bread and then head out to some nearby cafe for a coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have been going to Komiza with my family for a few years now, and this time we decided to go to a hotel there for two reasons. First of them is that we have a baby and therefore no time to cook meals for ourselves which you would normally do in an appartement. Second is that we had a limited budget and we calculated that it is much cheaper to book a half pension as we did than buying food in Komiza.

There are some things we knew about Komiza form our previous visits and that all the others should know before booking this hotel. Komiza is a really little fishermen's harbour village that takes two hours with a ferry and then car or a bus, really a place outside all the usual mainland activities, and that makes it such a great holiday destination. Everything that is there have to be transported 2 hours by a ferry ant then by a truck or something. The daily newspapers can be red when brought over from Split, which is around 12 o'clock.

So now imagine a hotel in such an environment, and imagine one that is in debts and that they are trying hard to sell it for 1 croatian kuna to someone who is ready to take it over and pay off all the dues that they have. But noone is ready to buy it. Maybe Mr Abramovich, multimillionare who sails to Komiza on his gigantic yacht every summer will show some interest but then we poor Croatians won't have such a great cheap place to go to any more. And since the hotel management is aware of the situation, in Croatian travel agencies you can book this hotel for a little price. Our price was 307 kn per room per person tax included, which is 41,48 EUR (1EUR=7,4 croatian kuna - kn). Baby free of charge, of course. And by the way it is the only hotel in Komiza, and when you see how small Komiza is, it's a wonder that they even have a hotel. The reason is probably that all up to 70's or 80's Vis was a social-comunist fortress with access limited to locals and army. Reason: it is a first inhabited island bordering the „western-european-capitalist enemies of socialism and comunism“. The whole island is like ementaller cheese, they can't even count the secret halls and tunnels that the army built to defend themselves from imaginary enemies. These are today a favourite tourist attraction, and a hotel should be as well, takin into account it's interior design. It is really 80's style, tiles in the bathroom brown, big mirror all over the wall, soap holders integrated in shower's wall, purple carpet, funny lookinf sofa, twin beds that are really two beds brought together, china shop lamps on the old furniture and wall lamps with big glasses covers- very 80's. But there is somthing useful that I didn't expect and that is a very small fridge with a freezer compartement. And a small TV with domestic, german and Italian channels and one english-Eurosport.

There are glasses in the bathroom, but tap water turned out to be a little blury so we decided to buy the water in the store. There are sources on the island, but our friends have recomended us not to drink the tap water.

The towels and the sheets were regulary changed by a helpful cleaning lady. Also, there is a sign telling you that if you want your tiwel to be changed, you have to put it on the floor. This is for environmental reasons.

Our room was one oft he last ones thay had, so we got half parking-half Komiza rooftops view and even a little sea. The only thing int he room that was invested in are the new double vacuumed (PVC) windows and shades, which really makes a whole 80's look more acceptable. Some sea view rooms with a balcony have A/C, ours didn't, but it wasn't too hot even on a hot day. Because oft his A/C we saw that hotel is being represented as a 2+ star hotel, but it's just a 2 star, maybe even less, especially for you spoiled American tourists. Mattrasses were bad and making noise as you turn, but you get use to it quickly. You can hear crickets all night long and it is really a nice way to fall asleep.

Food was one thing I was afraid of most what to expect, but it turned out to be great- self service with breakfast eggs sunny side up or boiled, two kinds of ham, two kinds of cheese and bread, juice and coffee machine, some cereals and small portions of butter, jam, honey, nutella and pate. There is a large terrace under the plastic roof where you can eat your meals, and a big restaurant inside. Dinner was always served at the same table, every room has it's own table so noone can sit in your place. There are three menus, fish, meat or pasta and every evening you are asked what you would like to eat the next day. Food is good, especially the fish, allthough the portions are small. There is always a soup and dessert, some fruit or a very small piece of cake bought in a supermarket. There is a salad bar – self service. Drinks are payed for separately. Staff was so great, the third day they have allready made friends with our little baby girl, one waitress even took her to kitchen to get her some candy. People on the reception are also very nice and friendly.

It is important to mention that since the hotel is ingraved in a hill, it has many levels and therefore a lot of steps. When we parked on a separated hotel parking with a ramp, we entered through the back entrance which is actually an entrance to the parking staircase of some 30 steps to get to the reception. On the main hotel entrance on the main Komiza street there are 15 steps to the doors and then another 5 steps to the reception. Then you take an allready mentioned loud and slow elevetor to floors 1-6. The restaurant is on the third floor and yet another five steps from the elevator to the restaurant. We had a baby in a trolley so it was a real workout for me to carry it up and down. It is DEFINATELY NOT a hotel for the disabled. In fact, the whole hotel is in different levels, like a maze. I tried to take the stairs from 3rd floor to ground level, but when I got to first floor, there were no more steps! Then the kind cleaning lady explained to me that on the second floor I have to go left through the bar and take another staircase to get to ground floor and the reception. And from the same bar (opened rarely and with a really bad choice of drinks) there is another big outside staircase that gets you directly to the beach.

The good thing is that having passed the staircases there is a wonderfull pebbly beach in a pine forest is right under the hotel, and we somehow got along with baby, trolley and everything. There is a small beach bar and a little church on the beach, just under the hotel. Really, the whole point of Komiza is definately not the hotel, you will be there just to go to sleep, meal and shower. We really liked the situation of the hotel and Komiza is really great holiday destination. I would book this hotel again, but take into account that it really is a low budget hotel.

Room Tip: Book by calling hotel directly, they all speak english. Avoid rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Maybe it isn't best hotel I've ever been, maybe it isn't so clean and modern, but they have really good food and climate that I'm searching during holiday. Peace and quiet - its all what I need for best rest. And VIS is one of most wild and beautifull place in Croatia I've been. Im sure that I will back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

It's really too bad that in the beautiful town of Komiza, the only hotel there is so sub-standard. Our room had no AC, dirty carpet, and mold in the bathroom. On top of that, the old elevator made such loud noise that you can't possibly sleep if you're within 100 feet of it. The good news was that we were able to find private accomodation in the high of the season.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hotel Bisevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel Bisevo

Address: Ribarska 72 | Komiža, Vis, Island of Vis 21485 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Vis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — hotel Bisevo 2*
Number of rooms: 164

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hotel Bisevo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.