We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely island and relaxing hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Giorgio to your Saves list
Hotel San Giorgio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petra Hektorovica 2, Vis, Island of Vis 21480, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Jerusalem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely island and relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A charming hotel with a fabulous breakfast buffet. The jams are amazing and varied and all local. The staff was very accomodating. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom, although some of the stairs can be a bit difficult to navigate. There was a nice open space to sit outside with couches and the area was quiet since it was away from the ferry. The distance is a bit problematic with luggage and kids. We didn't know there was an option to be picked up at the ferry - would definitely have made things easier.

Since we didn't have a car, the staff recommended a fabulous guide named Medo. He was so interesting and knowledgable about the island and took us to more remote places and the most amazing restaurant where the proprietor makes everything from scratch from his garden and land - including the baby goat who we got to feed who will probably be dinner at some point. He was great with kids and adults alike. There was also a great pizza place around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    24
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff at this hotel are so lovely and accomodating. The rooms may be hard to get to (steep stairs, very hard to navigate with luggage), but you are rewarded with very clean and spacious accomodations. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from the ferry, but the trade-off means being very close to great (and not very crowded) restaurants and a gorgeous beach at the end of the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only had a week in Croatia and decided to get the ferry from Hvar only 3 hours before it departed (there's only one a week). My girlfriend called the hotel, arranged for us to be picked up from the terminal and everything from that point forward (bar a couple of hiccups) went extremely well.

We chose the San Giorgio after reading 2 positive reviews and are so glad that we did! We were treated as if we were the only guests - the rooms were lovely, the receptionist was extremely helpful, the restaurant great and the location superb.

The hotel was also situated in a great spot (called Kut - meant to translate as "Quiet Corner") with a huge mansion on a small peninsula that provided a great route for running. There are also pelnty of great spots for swimming and sunbathing all around - a welcome departure from the hustle and bustle of the port area.

The hotel restuarant is also superb but it's also just a short walk to some of the other great places to eat - Lola, Villa Kaliopa etc.

As mentioned earlier, we had a couple of hiccups - one of which was due to the fact that we paid for our dinner on the 1st night and when we came to check-out we were asked to pay again. This was all sorted out but it's never nice when this happens so maybe they need to update their systems a little to indicate when someone has paid bills as they go along instead of adding items to the room - something I rarely ever do.

The only small downside is that we assumed that wifi would be available in the rooms but we couldn't connect unless we sat in reception.

If you go to Croatia, go to Viz, if you go to Viz, go to the San Giorgio.

Room Tip: We were initially booked into a Junior Suite but found we didn't use the lounge area apart from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A nice place and in the most atmospheric bit of Vis but still a bit of a walk from the ferry stop (about 15 to 20 minutes). Which is why I arranged a car to pick me up upon arrival--however, it was not there when I arrived. Since no taxis where waiting, I lugged my bag to the hotel. When I addressed this with the hotel staff, she claimed to have no idea what I was talking about--despite the fact that I had received an email response in her name telling me that the taxi had been arranged. I felt this was very unprofessional, although she later apologized. Wi-fi is only available in the common areas, which is a bit inconvenient. Overall, a very comfortable place that could do with more professional service. Still, appreciated that they offered to make me a sandwich when I was leaving as I was catching the early ferry out and would miss breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Vis is such a beautiful island! And Hotel San Giorgio is the perfect place to stay! The hotel is situated in the Kut part of Vis town, so it's a bit of a walk from the ferry but I think you can arrange for the hotel to pick you up or reserve a taxi.
We could see down at the harbour from our room- which was spacious, contemporary decorated and clean.
We went to a great pebble beach a 15min walk from the hotel. But there are plenty of beaches closer as well- but it was worth the walk! =) The breakfast was great- with espresso-style coffee made by order, fresh rolls (I think they were home made) and cold meat and cheese. We can highly recommend the hotel restaurant! We also did a winetasting with the sommelier at the restaurant. It was very interesting to get some information about the local wine. There's plenty of nice restaurants VERY close to the hotel- we recommend both Val and Pojoda! Lola Konoba&bar is a 10min walk back towards the ferry but well worth it! And Karijola is cheap and great pizza! You've got plenty of options! =) Stay for more than a night or two! ;)
The staff was very friendly and helpful, they can arrange trips to the blue cave/Bisevo and lots of other interesting things! And they arranged so that we could hire a scooter and explore the island-it was a perfect day! The scooter was delivered and picked up at the hotel. But get all your bookings confirmed. You can also arrange to get a massage at the hotel, but we were unfortunately unable to try this.
We're definately coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The place is ok, it has confortable and clean rooms, location is ok, but is does not worth in any way the Euros 180 they charge for each room. There is nothing charming or special that might justify this price, you might find as good places for much less than that.

Note: the rooms do not have internet. The wifi signal is too weak to reach them. You have to navegate from their restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

AMALIA - WE CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH - YOU'RE THE SWEETEST THING EVER!

- She called around to many rental companies, but all the scooters were taken out near us - so she called to have someone come pick us up and bring us to a shop with available rentals.
- She booked us on a day trip to bisevo that was exactly the itinerary we had hoped for.
- When we told her our ferry time the next morning, she thought it strange. The next morning, before her shift was even meant to start, she called the company and it turned out to be a mistake on their website. She let us know right away, and then called the people we were to meet on Hvar to advise them we would be late.

These three scenarios would have been frustrating to work out on our own. Thank you for making our holiday that much better.


As for hotel itself, we enjoyed our room, clean and comfortable, with an enjoyable breakfast. After the conversion to £, it turned out less expensive than we had expected, and well worth it.

The walk from the ferry was a bit tough as we had an enormous suitcase and it was 32.C, it's about 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Petra Hektorovica 2, Vis, Island of Vis 21480, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Vis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.