We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, but slightly nerve-jangling dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Jastozera

Konoba Jastozera
Komiza | Vis, Island of Vis, Croatia
21 71 38 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Island of Vis
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty, but slightly nerve-jangling dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved our meal at Konoba Jastozera, even though the shrimp and crawfish required pliers, wet-wipes, and a *lot* of energy to extract any meat. Service was great, wine was solid, and the ambiance is pleasant... until anyone walks by.

The biggest downside, though, was that the dining room is a wood-plank-pier, and the boards rattle when anyone walks by. We were seated toward the front of the restaurant, and I found my jaw rattling every time a waiter crossed the dining room. Careful of rickety planks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great service, food marginal at best, upset stomachs at worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

By far, the most disappointing meal in 4 weeks of touring Croatia and a bit of Italy. The waiter was great with offering suggestions and answering questions. It's a shame the food didn't live up to the expectations set by the waiter. Black risotto was bland and barely warm. The fruits de mar pasta was just adequate, same for seafood risotto. It should be noted that the 3 people in our party who ate the tomato based meals felt ill in the night and the next morning, requiring them to cancel scuba diving and snorkeling expeditions. Why eat here when Konobo Bako (the BEST meal of our journey) is across the walkway-thankfully we discovered Bako the next evening. And how could I forget - the 'special' bread ordered never appeared at Jastozera. The place seems to be living on past reputation

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fab location and ambience, the food and service was good, the wine not so great. I did feel it was over priced but Komiza is quite expensive compared to other regions in Dalmatia. The kids really enjoyed the Spagetti Bolognaise and the location but its more of a couples kind of place really.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Treat yourself with a meal at the Jastozera restaurant on Vis, Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We made a special trip to the Island of Vis, Croatia and moored up on Komiza, partly because we were told about this restaurant from Anna, our Sunsail Hostess. Our friends were celebrating their anniversary and a specialist lobster restaurant would tick all the boxes.

First off, expect to pay for the quality in all areas. This restaurant is not cheap and if you go for lobster, will probably be one of the more expensive meals you will have in Croatia, but Oh! It is SO WORTH IT!!! As a guide, our meal including wine (which was a several bottles) worked out to be £75/head!

The service from the moment you enter, right through to choosing wine and dishes, with the complimentary tasters was simply SPOT ON! Not too intrusive, but there when needed and so friendly. The location is fantastic. It is on the far end of the town quay, but worth the work, away from the crowds (if there are any). We were there in early June and it the quay was not busy at all, but guess in July/August could be popular. Would recommend checking their website and booking if you plan to visit in peak season.

While sitting at our table, you are looking out on to the bay, hills, town and sea. Turn the other way and you can look down at the "pool" where the lobsters are and you can even bring your tender in and park up - well worth it if you are moored up on a buoy!!!

Now, on to the food. The whole menu looked great and the little tasters given were lovely. But, if you like lobster, it is simply a MUST!!! Our waiter suggested the weight, plucked out two volunteers from the water and in the corner of the restaurant we could see the chef start to prepare our meals. We were then soon tucking in to the best lobster I have ever been served. Words just won't do it justice, just to say I would not hesitate making sure that Komiza was on our agenda when I return to the area.

A really lovely evening and one that we will remember as one of our holiday highlights. Definitely a place for a romantic meal with friends and partners!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Jastozera also viewed

Vis, Island of Vis
Comisa, Island of Vis
 
Comisa, Island of Vis
Vis, Island of Vis
 

Been to Konoba Jastozera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Jastozera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.