We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Perla Hotel
Save
You added La Perla Hotel to your Saves list
Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty beautiful - my boyfriend and I enjoyed the courtyard and balcony from our room. It was nice that the room also had its own fridge. However, everything at the hotel was overpriced, and the included breakfast was not good. We arranged a ride from the hotel to Granada through Hotel La Perla's taxi service and that was our biggest regret of our whole trip. The car's AC was broken and the driver was a MANIAC. For $95 dollars, I expected a respectful and safe driver, however, I felt like my life was flashing before my eyes the entire 2 hour ride. We probably would not stay here again if we ever come back to Leon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for yours comments. We try to disclose our prices clearly ahead of time and we believe our product for our product is properly prices and is less then the principal competitor..Hower, I am very concerned about the , to quote you " the LaPerla taxi service" . I want to assure all readers that this was not the La Perla Transport service" . Apparently , this was an independent taxi, that in NO manner is accociated with our hotel. When a trip advisor member writes that the taxi drive was his worst experience and driver is a Maniac...I only wish that the writer would be very specific before damaging our reputation . In almost five years our drivers have had no accidents and the only issue was that they would not drive faster , as a client was a friend they would miss their airplane.
Sincerely,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    59
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
102
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting this vibrant, fascinating city. The courtyard of this restored colonial mansion is sumptuous, the rooms are spacious, and the staff are friendly and attentive. I especially loved the bar and Terrace, with period art, high ceilings, and some of the best food we enjoyed anywhere in Nicaragua. Beautiful and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: ask for the Presidential suite if you prefer spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at La Perla Hotel Nov. 24, 25, and 26, 2012. This 19th-C. mansion has been beautifully restored by its American owner who also has the casino across the street. In its large, lovely courtyard you will have your choice of a full, delicious breakfast in view of a fountain and two huge white lions. The very friendly owner, along with the desk person, will handle all your needs, including touring. Although there is an on-site restaurant, they also recommend other restaurants. We had three meals on site for the convenience of eating “anytime” and were very satisfied. If we return to Leon, you will definitely find us at La Perla Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Leon. The public spaces in the hoel are very pretty, the rooms themselves a bit more basic. We had a good sized room upstairs facing the courtyard, which was quiet and opened to the beautiful shaded terrace with rocking chairs on it. The staff was very friendly, though not very effective. The refrigerator in the room was dead, the in-room safe died on day 2. Lots of talk about getting those fixed, but no action. Breakfast is good, but randomly has items like juice or coffee missing, unless you persist asking for them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel La Perla. The staff was incredibly hospitable and catered to every need we had. They all provided service with great attitude making it possible for us to enjoy our stay at this beautiful colonial mansion in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the second floor and enjoy the views of the tiled roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson West, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent several nights here recently while in Leon. What a fabulous place to stay. Great location within the city with secure parking across the street. There's a nice casino across the street as well. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. The staff couldn't have been more curtious and helpful. The food and service was excellent. The rooms we were in were exceellent and spotless. This is a 5 star hotel and we loved our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really good location and with parking space as well, almos private pool, clean and tidy rooms, great room service!
Also try the hotel restaurant it is surprisingly good and not expensive. Really nice to sit by th pool and order food and beer, try that one.

Breakfast is also included as always, and they have a good variety of classic Nica's or american's meals.

A very nice ending to our stay in Nica ((:

Very recommended .

Room Tip: Take a roomby the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.