We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient but noisy place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Dona Blanca

Posada Dona Blanca
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Dona Blanca to your Saves list
Posada Dona Blanca
De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Leon B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A convenient but noisy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in Posada Dona Blanca for a couple of nights. It is a couple of blocks from the Cathedral of Leon, so conveniently located. However, it is right on the main thoroughfare, so the noise level is quite high. The rooms are bland. There was no staff to greet us when we got to the place in early afternoon, only a young caretaker who did not speak a single word of English (fortunately my wife speaks reasonable Spanish). The breakfast was very good, and served with a smile. Other than that, we were not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights and consider Posada Dona Blanca an excellent value in Leon. We stayed in room #4 which has three beds in it and is still very spacious. The bathroom was the largest of any we have ever experienced. The inn has a wonderful retro charm from the 1960’s but everything is in pristine condition and very clean. They serve a simple breakfast that includes a wonderful variety of fruit, eggs, bread and a large pot of very good coffee. The tables are placed on the patio around the courtyard, and guest can admire the flowers and birds while eating.

Posada Dona Blanca is well located, only a few blocks away from the main plaza and cathedral, and there a several nice restaurants and local places to eat in the surrounding neighborhood.
Tierra Tours is located right next door and we used them to arrange a 10 PM private car ($70.00 at the time) from the Managua airport to Leon so that we would not have to stay the night in Managua. It worked out very well and we also used them for Volcano boarding on Cerro Negro, a day trip to Matagalpa, and a shuttle to San Juan del Sur.

If you are looking for a really affordable inn that has private bathrooms, air-conditioning, and hot water (that is actually hot), Posada Dona Blanca is a very good deal.

Best travels,

Craig & Donna

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here two nights. The location of the hotel is very central and convenient. Accommodations are very roomy, old colonial style, but basic. The rooms need a major uplift and clean up. There was dirt flying from the fan and pain cracking.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville, Maine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good location in town, spacious, pleasant rooms, kept well, and friendly. Our best selection in Nicaragua. Rooms are very comfortable. Has most everything you'd need. No complaints. Priced well, too. Breakfast is mostly fruit, but large portions.

Room Tip: Room 6 is upstairs with a small balcony on the front. Room 4 is huge. All rooms that our group was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed two nights at this hotel. It was very basic but great considering the price. We rented a car and was able to drive it inside at night. The staff doesn't speak English but we got by. Walking distance to everything you need. The room and bathroom were huge but sparse. The includes breakfast was decent and you could pay for additional options. The staff made a phone call for us to our car rental company which was very nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

It is a pretty good spot to stay the night, it is comfortable and the staff is really nice. Its affordable.. The accomodations are really good and private :).. in the same street there are a loft of restaurants and places to hang out.. It a very good choice ..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to visit with an excellent staff!!! If you are looking for a traditional hotel to visit in Leon, this place is perfect, nice rooms with AC, hot water, breakfast, wifi, laundry service and also is located nearby of the central park. And the prices are the best part of this hotel, definitely it's the best in its category...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Blanca

Address: De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying in a typical colonial Leon home, surrounded by lush landscaping and long terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Dona Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.