We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star of Leon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Hotel El Convento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contiguo a Iglesia San Francisco, Leon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Tampa Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Star of Leon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. It is centrally located and the rooms/decor are perfect. The building is a traditional Spanish colonial, adjacent to a church. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The bedding was comfortable and the rooms sparkling clean. The breakfast was first rate in the morning. Overall, couldn't be happier with my experience and will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure for us to know your stay was good at Hotel El Convento,
We hope you visit us soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
62
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

An excellent experience. A staff very willing to work and meet the requirements. Definitely the proximity to the historic center of Leon makes it special. It hosted a corporate event which saw the flexibility and desire to do things the team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Roger

We really appreciate your comments about our service. Every day we try to maintain the same quality for all our guest and this comments show us that we are doing a good job; please be assured that I will share your review with the Executive Team the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

El Convento has a special feeling to it which is obvious as soon as you cross the door. It is very magical. I stayed in the suite which was very spacious and had a huge soft bed. Service was kind and helpful. The patio is beautiful and the pool area very cosy and elegant. Probably the best choice in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir Estefania
Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to visit us in your next trip to Nicaragua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stay here and had a good experience. Bilingual staff was helpful, morning breakfast was a nice buffet with friendly server and nice view, and rooms were over avg. Location is perfect to walk to many nice restaurant and nite-life options.

Room Tip: Get room facing to middle and not toward roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lovely converted convent with central garden. Restaurant has both an air-conditioned section and seating outdoors. Only had breakfast there which was ok, nothing special. Our room was large and comfortable but at the back of the hotel facing a parking lot where garbage was picked up so it was quite noisy in the morning. The staff were helpful but a little stand-offish and formal.

Room Tip: Don't face the garbage pick up place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback about your recent stay with us, please be assured that I will share your review with the Executive Team the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The only hotel to stay in Leon,the beauty of it is in contrast with a very interesting but very busy and severe city.
We were there last year with an inefficient and impolite front desk what a difference this year,charming young women and doormen, room ready when we arrived at 1 pm.
The ground ,the decor and antiques make a stay at this hotel unforgettable.
Rooms are simple but clean ,hot water rare ( but this is Nicaragua) .you could walk everywhere in town from the hotel ,and in Leon you walk as you have to visit all the churches as well as all the murals and symbols of the revolution.
Also a little gem of a museum is the Ortis Fundation next door. A must.
Breakfast ,buffet style is ok ,had lunch and dinner one day food is average,but 2 block away you have the wonderful Meson restaurant ,waiters are very nice but could use a little bit more training!!
Government is spending money on restauring churches and park to their old splendor ,once finish the cathedral will be spectacular.
If you visit Nicaragua the contrast between Granada and Leon is very interesting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front ,too noisy. If you can ( may be more money) rooms facing the courtyard. Also c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinandega, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was at El Convento 4 years ago together with my wife celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, one thing to mention is the size of the rooms, the nice colonial ambience and of course the good service the people there offered us. The breakfast was very good and the two of us enjoyed it, the cook there is excellent. One thing I would like to have at a hotel like this is a pool, being Leon a city with a hot weather the pool would be a nice idea, of course not inside the beautiful garden but in another area of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are working in a project to include a pool for the hotel, let`s hope this year we can achieve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Contiguo a Iglesia San Francisco, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.