We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latina Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Latina Hostal to your Saves list
Latina Hostal
Emergencia Hospital Heodra 1 1/2 cuadras al arriba. | Costado Sur Este Catedral Leon, 2 cuadras al sur, 1 1/2 al este., Leon 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Leon
charleston sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Dec 26 2012

Hostel Latina - an oasis in Leon, NICA.
I have stayed in all types of hotels all over world. From Four star hotels to tents in National Parks.
Yet I had never stayed in a city hostel.
Hostel Latina! What a great find!
The Latina is blocks away from the Centro on a safe residential street. It has a combination of dorms and private rooms , all with shared bath. (cold water only, typical of all Hostels in Leon.)There is a rancho (courtyard) in the center of the Hostel with lovely plantings, stone walkways and many hammocks.
There is a shared kitchen, free breakfast, free FAST wifi and free laundry.
They have just opened an intimate outdoor bar that plays great music of all sorts, mainly hip lounge.
Yet what makes this hostel so fantastic is the staff. From Roger, the owner, to Nina the housekeeper to Alex at reception and lovely Alejandro the caretaker- but Oswaldo Vargas, the manager- is amazing, the feather in the Latina's cap. I was in Leon with my friend Dennis Nicholson who is a renown builder looking at casitas for a second home and it would never have happened without the assistance of all the staff, but Oswaldo became my negotiator and champion, I am forever in his debt. And he keeps in contact with me, giving me updates of this somewhat tricky long distance transaction while I am back in the States.
A special enchanting place with a small yet superb staff.
Thanks Oswaldo! You are the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
24
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hostal Latina is nicely located on the market side of the Cathedral in a safe neighborhood. There's plenty of local activity around and it's just a short walk to the nightlife, restaurants and bars. The staff here are incredibly gracious and accommodating. Their hard work made our stay really comfortable and enjoyable. We spent a few nights in the beautiful backyard of the hostel at the bar chatting to staff and enjoying their company. Drinks are really cheap and the atmosphere warm. There's hammocks under shady trees and seats around the place to enjoy the wonderful home-made pancake breakfast, banana and fresh coffee.

The washing machine is free, and given we were out at the time, the hostal staff hung out our wet clothes. Another example of above and beyond. The double room we had was fine. Very clean with very comfortable beds and pillows, a fan and curtains. Rooms on the street-side can be a little noisy at night and early morning but not enough to disturb sleep. It's entirely possible to book bus tickets and tours from the hostal as well.

We had to catch an early bus to Honduras and staff were up at 5am to ensure we got a taxi to the right place. Amazing people, great service, really clean place. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 weeks while attending a Spanish school in Leon. Staff are very friendly and this place will end up feeling like home to you. This place is very chill, safe feeling, with a full kitchen and lots of space, complete with hammocks! Spent a lot of time just hanging out at the hostel. Pretty close to the city center as well. If you're looking for a party hostel this isn't it (although they do have a great little bar and DJ in the evenings, so it could potentially be...). Overall would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Incredibly friendly owners, who will go out of there way to make you feel at home. The hostel is clean, beds are way better than in most of the other hostels and the atmosphere is very inviting. The courtyard with hammocks is amazing and the bar has prices which are difficult to beat.

If you get lucky you might find yourself partying with the owners and if you do, be prepared for a really fun night. On top of that the hostel is kind of small, so it still remains its quiet vibe and tranquility.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We have been at latina hostal for 3 nights and we loved it! The owners are 2 brothers and 1 sister and they just started to run this hostel for 5 months. They make it a beautiful place to stay! you can see the passion that they have for here hostel, León and the custumers and they are working hard to make them dream come true! Really nice to see and you wish them all the luck at the world! We stayed in a private room and that room was ok. They make breakfast for you or you can make your own. You can do your laundry because they have a washing machine. And the garden is very beautiful. Their hammocks all over the place.The place is really quiet but when you want to make a party its also a good place. They make it just the way you like! Service is great! They take care of everything you want, they arranged our trip to the Cerro Negro and a taxi to Ometeppe. Latina hostal is just 5 min walk to the centre. We will stay again at latina hostel when we will come back to León!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This new hostel is a great addition to Leon. The staff are very friendly, helpful and lots of fun! There is a garden out the back with hammocks to chill out in, a small bar with cheap drinks and a kitchen for cooking in. The rooms are really good value and all you need. I would definitely recommend staying at the Latina Hostel, it has a fun but very chilled out relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latina Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latina Hostal

Address: Emergencia Hospital Heodra 1 1/2 cuadras al arriba. | Costado Sur Este Catedral Leon, 2 cuadras al sur, 1 1/2 al este., Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latina is a young hostel for young travelers.Our home is your home; bar, clean, great location, good sleeping beds,Volcano Boarding, hight speed internet, free breakfast and the most important, the people ,we want you to feel welcome. We are young backpackers ready to met young travelers from all over the world.Latina Hostel is located at the new heart of the colonial city Leon,in a local neighborhood. The cathedral is just two blocks, main hospital Heodra 1 1/2. Central market also 3 blocks away, and the main supermarket is just 4 blocks..Latina has fresh Dorms, fan for all beds. We include guest kitchen,Purified water, wifi, laundry service and movie tv/dvdroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Latina Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latina Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.