We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Carbon

Al Carbon
Del parque la merced 25 vrs abajo, De la iglesia la merced 25 vrs abajo, Leon, Nicaragua
+505 23114761
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 52 Restaurants in Leon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food here was solid but nothing special. It was not overpriced but it did not seem to be a first cousin of a gourmet eatery either. The place has good service and a nice garden

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    58
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good service, portions are huge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely restaurant and the service is very impressive. All the staff were very professional and attentive.

The ribs are huge (and not like ribs in North America) and the chicken cordon bleu was huge as well, maybe not the nicest quality we have had in Leon though.

Good selection of wines.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Lovely last evening in Leon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere with great service and tasty food. Really pleased that we ate in Al Carbon for our last evening. Summed up all that is great about the people and the fresh food in Nica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Steak for this money? A best-pick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed a nice dinner here (but made reservations before,which I recommend). The wine and food was delicious, waiters are friendly as always. Definitly "upper class" for a Nicaragua resident, but a great deal for travelers willing to pay ca 30 USD for 2 great meals, one appetizer plate and drinks.
Nice old house and pretty inner garden area.
No complaints, but also nothing suuuuper special. Nice if you want a change of taste after eating rice and beans all the time :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Very good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This restaurant was in a quaint building in a well-kept inner courtyard. The restaurant was so nicely decorated that one wanted to walk around and admire the decorations while waiting for the food. Al Carbon was recommended to us by the Hotel Real. We were told by the front desk person that everybody who ate there came back satisfied. Apparently the place was mostly known for its steak.

Except for me, all others in our group had steak. I wanted some thing lighter, so I went for a Taco salad. I guess the place was not known for that so I got something less tastier than I had expected. But all others were raving about their food and practically licking their plates.

So, all in all, I think this is a good restaurant in Leon. Try not to order the Taco salad though if you can help it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Carbon also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Al Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Carbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.