We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerro Negra Volcano Boarding - Poor equipment - take a different operator” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours

Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours
1/2 block west of the Mercantil, Leon, Nicaragua
(505) 2311-7388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 activities in Leon
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cerro Negra Volcano Boarding - Poor equipment - take a different operator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went on the day-trip to Cerro Negra.
Good short hike up, great views, steaming volcano, sunshine, conditions were great.

Unfortunately the boards that Quetzal Trekkers use are very basic and very poorly serviced. I have understanding for, and don't really care that my gloves and overall were falling apart, but if I spend almost an hour walking up, then I expect to have a thrilling ride down for all that hard work! The sliding surface is scratched open and peeling back on most of the boards that our group had, so that this friction kills your ride.

We watched 2 other groups come down, and they had much better equipment and it looked like a thrilling ride :-(

Also there is absolutely no coordination between the different tour companies, so that all groups arrived at the top at about the same time. Great! We had to wait almost an hour to start our ride, baking in the midday sun on the black volcano sand.

The other tour groups were picked up by truck exactly where the ride ends, but our truck waited another 10 minutes walk away - "in the shade" it was said. It's an open tarp-covered truck, there's no reason to park it "in the shade", jeez.

The snacks and the lunch was so-so.

Out of a group of 15, only 3 decided to go a second time, so you can imagine how enthusiastic everyone was to repeat the experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    7
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Volcano boarding fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were thrilled with our experience with Quetzaltrekkers on Volcan Cerro Negro. Our guide was knowledgeable and personable and made the first hike up (in unusually intense winds nonetheless!) as easy as possible. The mid-morning snack hit the spot (everything from carrot sticks and bananas to chips and cookies), and then we were ready to tackle our second hike and board down the mountain (no other large companies in Leon offer a second run that we know of). The price was right ($30/person) and included everything--even the park admission fee--as well as a cool tshirt or tank top at the end. But above all, we loved the opportunity to do this trip with a volunteer-run organization donating all profits to a local group working with street children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
“AMMMAAAZIIINNNNGGGGGGGGGG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just got back from the two day Telica hike, and WOW.....what an amazing trip. I have done a lot of backpacking but this trip was absolutely perfect. Such an amazing group, such amazing sights, and tomato sauce! The guides were phenomenal, they were so much fun and everyone was talking about how lucky we were to have them lead us... I am so so so glad I didnt pass up this trekk, it has been my favorite thing about my journey through central america so far!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent operation, great tour experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Not usually a fan of guided tours but we wanted to volcano board, and I am very glad we chose to tour with them. The staff was great from booking to tour to hiking the volcano. We were provided with all the supplies and ample food and water. Our guide, Jenny, was very knowledgeable of volcanos and extremely helpful.

On top of a great experience you get a t-shirt and the knowledge that the profits go to help kids in Leon.

If I go back to Leon, I will definitely sign up for more hikes with them!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So much fun and worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was simply an awe inspiring experience. Sure its hot and sweaty but if you sign up thinking otherwise maybe you need a reality check. Guides are so helpful and full of information. Would definitely do it again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quetzaltrekkers - Private Day Tours to your Saves list