We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we found it earlier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CocinArte

CocinArte
Noth side of the Laborio Church 50 meters east, Leon, Nicaragua
+505 8854 6928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Leon
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: CocinArte, the city's original vegetarian restaurant,is located in a beautiful colonial house with cute balconies in the Laborio neighborhood, a few blocks from Central park. The building has recently been selected as the oldest house of Leon. The restaurant has a lovely green patio and soft world music is played which makes the restaurant a nice little escape from the buzzing streets of Leon. CocinArte specializes in international vegetarian dishes like falafel, pasta pesto, noodles with a mouthwatering peanut sauce or a flavorful Indian curry or chana masala. But you can also choose for a traditional Nicaraguan dish like Indio Viejo ("The Old Indian") The House special is "The CocinArte",a sizzling hot plate with sauteed veggie fajitas and vegetables. The menu offers smaller dishes like soups, quesadillas, tacos and salads For the carnivores there is a small selection of chicken dishes. Natural juices & milk shakes (without sugar!) are freshly made at the bar and a fine, strong organic coffee is served. All the food is made to order and ingredients are freshly cut. If you are full, (the plates are large) packaging is available. Live music every other Saturday! Check our Facebook for the dates Open 11am -10pm, closed on Tuesdays.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wish we found it earlier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We found this restaurant at the end of our time in Leon as I didn't know about it previously, and would have visited regularly otherwise. We had a bit of difficulty finding it, as it is a little way out from the center of town, but only a 10 minute walk. My non-veggie boyfriend was happy to come here as they also offer a few chicken dishes, but he decided upon a veggie curry instead and though it was delicious! The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are really friendly. The manager(?) was lovely and gave us some great tips for what to do in the town. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris E, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hola Heidi!
Thanks a lot for your review and kind words.
It`s always good to hear that meat eaters are happy with a veggie plate and I`m glad that you both enjoyed the food. It was a pleasure having you and giving some tips.
I hope you had a good time in our beautiful Leon...
Regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Delicious food and lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The food here was so, so good. So nice to get some different flavours and so many different options. The ambiance was great too set in a lovely old building. Definitely worth it to make the short walk here from the center of town. Had we been staying in Leon longer, would definitely have returned for another meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris E, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello Martina,
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words.
We`re proud to offer a menu with flavors from all over the world and I`m glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and the ambiance. Hope we`ll see you back one day.
Kind regards from the oldest building of Leon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, mediocre service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me start off by saying this place has truly amazing vegetarian dishes; the falafel is great, so is the pesto spaghetti and the indonesian dishes. You can get food from Nicaragua as well as different parts of the world, and it will be executed well and taste delicious and authentic. Also great, fresh juices in this place. The service isn't great, we've had to wait a while for food at times. So I recommend that you go a time when there's not many people there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris E, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Martine,
Thank you very much for your feedback, appreciating your effort to write a review..
I`m happy to hear you liked the food that much.
To make sure all the food is fresh and as deicious as you said, we don` t prepare anything and everything is freshly cut. and cooked to order. That`s problably why you sometimes had to wait a little. Thank you for your patience.
Greetings from Leon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best vegetarian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wonderful food and extensive range in choices. Unexpected charm in the town of Leon. Went twice and tried friends dishes, the peanut sauce was EXCELLENT

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris E, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hola Colqueta,
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words!
I`m very happy to hear you enjoyed the food that much and you and your friends decided to come for a second time.
The best peanut sauce in Nicaragua......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Leon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We loved this vegetarian restaurant, a range of options; it was so difficult to choose ! Great drink options too! My only complaint is that I didn't get to eat there more!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hola Sally,
Thank you so much for your praising review! Appreciating it very much.
We`re sorry too you couldn`t come more often, just come back to Leon....
Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CocinArte also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to CocinArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CocinArte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.