We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went up a volcano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours

Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours
Leon, Nicaragua
+505 8625 4467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Outdoor Activities in Leon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our main Tour are: families vacations trips, shore escurcion Corinto and San Juan del Sur. Sandboarding Cerro Negro and Telica volcano hike everydays
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Fernie, Canada
1 review
“We went up a volcano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As a couple in our mid-fifties, we are relatively new to cruising, but have found it a great way to travel to new places. When the chance to journey though the Panama Canal for its 100th anniversary came up, we couldn’t resist.
One of our itinerary stops was to be Corinto, Nicaragua. Here we wanted to do an excursion just a little out of the ordinary. Our #1 choice was to climb the Cerro Negro Volcano with Julio Tours.
Our initial research, which included reading the reviews of Julio Tours, gave us confidence in their ability to provide a top-notch service. This turned out to be definitely true.
Julio Pineda, the owner and manager of this company, was great to work with on the internet, answering all our questions promptly by e-mail. Having dealt with numerous cruise visitors before, he was able to assure us that we could head out to the volcano, climb it, and then be back in time for our ship's scheduled departure.
With Julio's detailed description of what our day trip to Cerro Negro would include, it did not take much convincing to persuade a few friends who were also going on the cruise to join us on this once-in-a-lifetime adventure.
On May 6th, our arrival date in Corinto, our little party of six was off the ship as soon as we could. Julio himself was waiting for us at the port terminal gate. He personally escorted us to our vehicle and our driver/guide Carlos D’Gutierrez.
We had a amazing day with Carlos. He was very informative and patient with our group. The hour and a half drive to the volcano was scenic, and Carlos was able to provide some excellent commentary about his beautiful country along the way.
It seemed like no time at all before we were at the Volcano Welcome Centre and ready for our climb up Cerro Negro.
Carlos was able to guide us with great skill up the rocky path. (Well, semi-path anyway.) With his help, and despite the heat and humidity that day, our hike to the peak was actually fun every step of the way.
After spending some time at the top, two members of our group were brave enough to ride down on toboggan boards that were provided. The rest of us chose to either walk or run down the almost sandlike surface of the exit side of the volcano.
It really was a fabulous experience.
After the volcano, we did have time for a short stop at a market to enjoy fresh mangos. Carlos made sure we were well taken care of. We were onboard our ship with time to spare.
We would highly recommend Julio Tours for anyone visiting this area of Nicaragua.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guess Thank very much for your nice review for your trip in Nicaragua.
Yes, you went up at volcano and we with your review got up 100 review which is really amazing.
Thank so much we really apresiate alot.
We know are doing a good job but we know need to improve better.
So any suggestion are really welcome.

Julio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“...five years and counting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I say five years and counting, because that is how long I have been using the services of Julio Tours, Nicaragua. Also this review has been well over due. I have had the opportunity to watch and participate with Julio, as he builds his business into a fabulous group of people. Yes, that is people! When I first meet Julio, he was about five years into building on a successful business where he was the only employee, with one or two part time employees he hired on an as needed basis. Today he is still building, but has a group of people he employs regularly along with his adult children. These folks are working hard at learning English and giving you a memorable experience during your stay in Nicaragua. They have an excellent teacher in Julio, who demonstrates excellence in knowledge, manners, thoughtfulness, and I could go on forever. Julio Tours can tailor your experience to any and all needs and types of travel and travelers. They cover many parts of Nicaragua and work with other companies to bring you a memorable trip. Don't miss out, contact Julio Tours today.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
YES, it had beem 5 years since you arrive to Nicaragua for the firths time and since there you had beem using our services.
Thank for your great fedelity we all apresiate it.

Just les´t us know when you are coming back to be ready for you and your friends.
All the best.
Julio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Guide, Great Driver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We used Julio tours for our 3 days in Leon for private pickup from Managua, Volcano Surfing and private transportation down to San Juan del Sur. We were lucky enough to have Casear for all 3 days - and couldn't have a nicer more polite guy. He let me practice my rusty Spanish, turned down the car radio when I feel asleep and was very patient with our slow accent up the Volcano! If I could give 5 stars just for him, we would!

The cars he used were all very nice and he was a very safe driver (always erroring on the side of caution). And we had done extensive email communication with nearby transportation companies and for private transportation they had the best price. Just as a note tho, we were told at our hotel that Julio doesn't have an office, but books business by phone and email only - so try to have things sorted out before you arrive. (make it easier).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi there.
Thank so much for your good review on Tripadvisor.
we will be wait ing in your visit icaragua to show you the rest our beautfill country.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2 of the best days of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I found Julio via Tripadvisor before we arrived in Nicaragua. He answered all my questions via email quickly and thoroughly. We decided to book 2 tours with him Managua and Masaya markets in Granada and The Flor De Cana Rum factory tour in Leon. His son was our tour guide on the first tour, he was full of information and we learnt so much about the country including a great day out where we had as much time as we needed to look at everything - thoroughly enjoyable.

Julio met us in Leon, the time of the tour of the Rum Factory had changed to later in the day so we asked if we could instead do it in the morning. Julio met us at 8am at our hotel and we had a really interesting chat about his history and that of the country, he then asked if we wanted to go to the bubbling mud pools of the volcano before the Rum Tour, we did and it was superb. We got to spend time with the lovely children who lived in the village near the pools which was amazing and we really enjoyed the Rum Tour. I felt the value for money on both trips was fantastic and going with a larger company would not have given us the insight we got into what is a fascinating country. I hope you do well with your business Julio and let us know when your book is available to buy - Everything is true - even the lies! :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello There thank very much for your nice review.
BEST 2 day in your vacations with JULIO TOURS is much to say.
Yes I am still working finish my book it is editing right now and hope it gets ready very soon.

All the best for you.
Next time you comeback It will be for a cowboy tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Didn't have Julio for our guide :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a rather large group for our tour (20), so Julio arranged for two vans. The other van had Julio, and we had a young man. In comparing notes, we had significantly different experiences.

We docked in Corinto, and both vans were there as promised. Julio had arranged for our vans to reverse routes so our stops wouldn't be too crowded. Our group first went up a rugged road to a hillside above Leon where there is the remains of a prison from the Samosas era. We drove through areas of abject poverty, and the prison was also quite sobering. While this stop isn't included in most tours, it was memorable and I'm very glad we did it. Then came a short driving tour of Leon, and we stopped at a charming restaurant. This lunch stop was optional, but it was right by the square, and for $10 we had a great Nicaraguan meal. Definitely do it! Following lunch we walked around the square and visited the cathedral. Then we went to an art museum, which was where our tour really bogged down. Our guide knew nothing at all about art, so he asked a museum employee to show us around. The employees spoke Spanish only, and our guide tried to translate. We were there far too long, and we missed the market place and some of the other sites in the area.

The day's tour was $50 pp, not including lunch. It was worth that. But, I would strongly recommend that you try to get Julio himself for your guide. Our young man was nice enough, but lacked the experience and depth to tell us anything beyond textbook answers. Julio, on the other hand, has quite an interesting history and really helps his guests to understand the cultural and political aspects of his nation.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello good morning
Sorry you miss to visit the places you mention.
Yes, you are right in the museun you mention your tours guide hire an employee because as you say he did not know much about it.
I also hire an employee because they are who know about this wonderfull Art Galery consider by expert as the best Art Galery in Central America.

my (julio) what I share in the van is just what we were living during the time of Contras and Sandinista Civil war which I was part in that conflic.
It is not easy to find many men who were in that civil war and now they are tours guide and speack ingles, least I dont know enyboddy with that capacity.

What we in Julio Tours are doing is training more joung man to became in tours guide with high level of responsibility, knowledge and professionalism.
Thank again. next time I will be your tour guide.
Julio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.