We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hostel in Leon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazybones Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazybones Hostal
Save
You added Lazybones Hostal to your Saves list
Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“A good hostel in Leon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hostel is located few blocks from the main square. There are few nice restaurants and bars in the immediate neighborhood.
The pool and the seating area around it is the best feature of this hostel. It was clean and fairly large for a hostel. Although the hostel itself is relatively large, we found it fairly quiet.
Our room was basic, decent size and located on the top floor. The double door opened onto a nice balcony overlooking the pool. There was also a high window. Even though it had a high ceiling and a fan, it got very hot at night and made it difficult to sleep. The walls are very thin but there are only three rooms on the top floor and our neighbors were quiet. There is a narrow spiral staircase that leads to the top floor. This was a bit inconvenient as our room had no bathroom and it was quite far and awkward to walk down at night to the bathroom located on the main floor and all the way at the opposite side of the pool area.
However, overall I did like my stay at this hostel. It was well organized, fairly clean and provided few nice places to relax. But staying in rooms on the main floor will be a better choice. The staff was nice and helpful. Our room and the hostel itself were clean. There was a good Wi-Fi.
I believe that most travelers will not regret staying in this Hostel. We arrived to Leon without reservation and late and went to three other hostels, that were full, before coming to Lazy Bones. From what I have seen this is one of the best hostels on Leon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor are cooler and more practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    73
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
76
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This was my second time staying at this hostel. Previously I had been there in December of 2009. At that time, it was owned but a Canadian (I believe) guy and was very chill and relaxed spot. Unfortunately, it's been bought since then by a family (elderly parents, a son and possibly an elderly aunt) who are European. The chill vibe has definitely declined as the family hangs out in a group, monitoring the guests and supervising their behaviour. It's a little like having your parents at your birthday party. You never quite relax because you always wonder if they are judging you.

On the good side, the hostel is in a good location, easy walk to the central parque and restaurants and bars (there's a great breakfast place around the corner from it that I highly recommend), it has a small but clean pool and free morning coffee. The rooms are reasonably clean, although the bathrooms (the shared ones for the dorms and private room without attached bathrooms) definitely need a good cleaning and new shower curtains.

The rates for the rooms are reasonable, $30 US for private with bath, $20 US for private no bath and about $10 US for the dorms. Overall, the hostel is quiet and tidy.

Unfortunately, because of the new owners, I likely will not return to this hostel, they made me feel that uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazybonesstaff, Propriétaire at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
I am very sorry that my parents and my aunt have bothered you during your stay in our hotel. They came to our wedding (December 13 and December 17 ).... they were just passing through .... don´t worry, you can come back, they will not bother you again unless I get married again .
Seriously with all the respect I owe you and knowing my parents and my aunt, I do not think they've hugely disturbed for a week ... it was a family atmosphere ... nothing less .... but you have the right not to have liked that.

Patrick and Monica
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We made a booking by email clearly stating we were two couples travelling together. As there were no doubles we booked 4 beds in a dorm, or so we thought. When we arrived we were told we had 3 people in one dorm and one person in one dorm. Terribly bad organising when we had from the start said we were two couples. Anyway, somehow they managed to get two doubles which suited us better and we were happy. The hostel is nice, with a very nice pool. Never any queues to the bathrooms. There is no kitchen. The location is very good close to the centre. There were some very good staff and some not so good giving bad information and selling some very dodgy bus tickets. Our friends were travelling on to Guatemala and were offered either a chicken bus or a Pullman if they waited one day. As the journey from León to Guatemala City on a chicken bus didn´t sound very appealing, they waited one day and got the Pullman. It was supposed to have a bathroom at least. The departure was very delayed but finally they set off. It seemed like there was a Pullman bus and a cicken bus operating together for the same "company" (read mafia)! As some passengers wanted to go to El Salvador and this country do not help out with illegal goods smuggling the Pullman bus suddenly stopped and all these boxes were loaded from the chicken bus to the Pullman bus, even blocking up the whole bathroom so our friends had to say goodbye to that luxury. As they complain they were literally threathened very aggresively asking if they had any proof of what they had paid for their journey, of course they didn´t because the girl in the reception had very conveniently just run out of receipts to give them. They were so scared for the rest of the journey that they barely slept during the 20 hours it took to get to Guatemala City. I find it very strange that the hostel should recommend this kind of bus "company" and also find it very strange that they would not be aware of the illegal handling of goods on these buses. Whatever you do, do not book your bus ticket this way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazybonesstaff, Propietario at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi Emelie
We are very sorry for what happened on the trip and by bad sufristes inconvenience you and your friends, all the staff apologizes Lazybones.

We did not know the bus to the traffic of goods, so that pleases you giving us this information, we have called the owner of the bus and we have canceled our clients sending them, because they do not want other people to suffer as same as you. Tell your friends please that we are sorry and return quesi Here we will give a free night, hopefully accept our apologies.
We wish you a happy journey and without any inconvenience and have a great year.
bye

Patrick and Monica
owner of the hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

That's the perfect place to recover after some days of travelling. We spent entire days hanging at the pool area which is just awesome. The rooms are simply furnished and spotless clean. There is free coffee, but the breakfast - opposed to what the latest lonely planet says - is NOT included in the room price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

clean, beautiful, great location, good staff, pretty quiet. i haven't had breakfast yet but i'm definitely staying another night

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have been there twice and i think it is one of the really good hostal in Nicaragua. Close to everything: the best restaurants, the cathedral, tour operator, etc. The staff are really nice and always ready to help. There is a swimming pool, free internet, free tea and coffee and the rooms are nice and clean. I strongly recommend this hostal if you go to Leon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Lazy Bones is a really nice hostel. Nice common rooms, with big fans and quiet atmosphere, so you can actually get some sleep. There is a pool to cool down and a kitchen that makes nice breakfast to start the day. The staff is very welcoming, and care about making Leon a nice experience. They have deals with tour guides as do almost all hostels, but here they do an extra effort in helping you, if you are looking for something uncommon or something simple not provided by the citys tour guides. I would definitly choose Lazy Bones, if I came back to visit Leon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazybones Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.